15 Heart Warming Books Like A Man Called Ove

A Man Called Ove by Fredrik Backman was one of those stories that had readers laughing and crying. It spent almost a year on the Best-Sellers Lists, and if you’ve read it then you’ll understand why.

This book phenomenon holds a special place in many people’s hearts. Every now and then a book comes along that warms your heart while teaching you a valuable life lesson, A Man Called Ove is one of those books.

Frederick Backman received a lot of praise when A Man Called Ove was released because of how his story represents someone who feels disconnected, but actually has a big impact on the people around them.

If you were touched by this story, you may want to know about more books like A Man Called Ove

If you liked A Man Called Ove, then you’re going to want to check out the list of books we’re going to discuss today. Below are some of our top picks for books similar to A Man Called Ove.

Quick Answers: Top 3 Picks!

Need a book fast but don’t have much time? Here are our top three favourites!

Our Favourites!

#1 Best Highly Acclaimed Novel

A Gentleman in Moscow by Amor Towles

  • About a man who is under house arrest and finds new life in isolation
  • New York Times best seller
  • Historical fiction set in the Starlin era

#2 Best in Coming of Age

Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand by Helen Simonson

  • An Ex-military man makes friends with a local Pakistani shop owner in rural England
  • A progressive storyline with themes of injustice and prejudice
  • A sweet and warming plot

#3 Best Heart Warming Story

The 100 Year Old Man Who Climbed Out the Window and Disappeared by Jonas Jonasson

  • A funny and lighthearted story of a man who escapes a nursing home in his slippers
  • A few thought-provoking elements
  • Imaginative and enjoyable storyline

Summary Of A Man Called Ove (Spoiler Free!)

If you haven’t read A Man Called Ove yet, it’s one that you must add to your “to be read” pile.

This book follows the story of Ove, a grumpy old man that the neighborhood has deemed “the bitter neighbor from hell”. However, there’s a lot more under the surface of Ove’s mean exterior.

Ove hasn’t had the best experiences with people. He has been conned and taken advantage of by people in the past. The only person he cared for, his wife, lost her life in a tragic accident.

These experiences have led to Ove having a hard shell and coming across as a curmudgeon to everyone in his neighborhood.

It’s not until a new family moves in next door and an unkempt cat enters his life that a different side of the man is revealed.

This popular best-seller was made into a Swedish movie in 2015. A Man Called Ove has also inspired an American movie titled A Man Called Otto. It’s set to release on Christmas Day in 2022 and stars Tom Hanks as Otto.


Acclaimed Books Like A Man Called Ove

A Man Called Ove has received a lot of praise since it hit the shelves. If you’re a fan of this heart-warming tale, you might be looking to find other critically acclaimed books similar to A Man Called Ove. Let’s take a look at some of our top choices.

1. A Gentleman in Moscow – Amor Towles

A Gentleman in Moscow is the breakout novel from author Amor Towles. If you’re after novels similar to A Man Called Ove, you should add this book to your list.

This story centers around Count Alexander Rostov in 1922. After being assumed an unrepentant aristocrat, he is sentenced to house arrest where he has to stay in a room in Metropol, a grand hotel.

While Rostov is under house arrest, many life-changing events are unfolding just outside the hotel’s doors.

Rostov had a reputation for being a knowledgeable man with great wit.

However, he has never worked a day in his life and was used to the finer things before his sentence to house arrest in the hotel.

While being locked away in isolation should have broken him, the new life circumstances provided an outlet to discover his true emotions.

If you think this book sounds interesting, then you might also like these books similar to The Outsiders.


2. The Story of Arthur Truluv – Elizabeth Berg

If you’re looking for books similar to A Man Called Ove because you enjoy the tale of an unlikely friendship, then you will love The Story of Arthur Truluv by Elizabeth Berg. This book follows the story of an unlikely trio that becomes as close as family. 

First, we have Arthur, a man who has lunch every day at the cemetery and speaks to his late wife.

Then we have Maddy, a troubled teenage girl that heads to the cemetery to avoid a day at school. This odd pair strike up a friendship that helps each one feel less isolated.

When Arthur’s nosy neighbor Lucille joins the pack, they become an unconventional group that enjoys life’s sweetest moments together.


3. The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel – Deborah Moggach

Are you looking for novels like A Man Called Ove because you want to read another story that involves people from different cultures adapting together?

Then you will likely enjoy The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel by Deborah Moggach. This one-of-a-kind book is funny and sincere.

The story starts off with an over-worked doctor that has come to a wit’s end with his father-in-law.

He seems to have the perfect solution when he learns that his cousin has opened up a retirement home that will re-create Bangalore, a famous corner in London. However, the promise doesn’t meet the reality when they arrive at the hotel turned retirement center. 

While the residents don’t have anything close to the luxuries they were promised, there is still a lot to be appreciated at the Best Exotic Marigold Hotel.


4. All The Light We Cannot See – Anthony Doerr

If you are looking for books like A Man Called Ove because you were captivated by the tale of friendships that help people survive, you may enjoy All The Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr.

This story is set during World War II and centers around a blind French girl and an orphan German boy as their lives interweave.

Marie-Laure and her father live in Paris, where he works at a museum.

When the Nazis invade during World War II, they flee to Saint-Malo to stay with her uncle in a house by the sea. However, they also brought along the most valuable jewel from the museum. 

Werner is an orphan boy that lives in a mining town in Germany with his sister. All they have is a radio, which they rely on for news and stories.

This has allowed Werner to become an expert at fixing and building them. When the war begins, he was enlisted because of this talent. 

One of the things that readers enjoy the most about this book is that despite all the bad that is going on in the world, the characters find many ways to be good to one another.


5. The Midnight Library – Matt Haig

If you’re looking for books like A Man Called Ove because you appreciate a story about reflection of life, The Midnight Library by Matt Haig may be up your alley.

Have you ever thought about what the story of your life would be if you made a different decision? 

This is exactly what the main character, Nora Seed, experiences as she has the opportunity to see how her life could be if she made different decisions.

However, she has to look deep within herself to see if changing her life completely would be worth it.


6. Where the Crawdads Sing – Delia Owens

Are you interested in novels like A Man Called Ove that tell the tale of someone who lives in solitude? Where The Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens is a critically acclaimed book that is now a movie.

This story centers around Kya Clark, who is known as the Marsh Girl in the small fishing town of Barkley Cove.

Even though Kya has lived in solitude with nature, she’s at a point in her life where she is curious about what it’s like to be loved.

Her attention is drawn toward two local young men, each one captivated by Kya’s beauty and unique way of life.

She is excited to see where this will lead her, but then the worst happens. A local boy is found dead, and everyone expects hers.


Coming Of Age Books Like A Man Called Ove

There’s nothing like a good coming-of-age book to root for a character as they overcome a personal journey and grow as a person. There are many books similar to A Man Called Ove in this genre. Here are some of our top choices.

7. Florence Gordon – Brian Morton

Do you want to read more novels similar to A Man Called Ove that center around an elderly person who prefers to live on their own, but has to deal with others inviting themselves into their life?

Florence Gordon by Brian Morton should be on your to-read list.

This story centers around Florence Golden, a 75-year-old woman who has always lived her life the way she wanted.

Now that she is excited to settle down and write her memoir, her son returns with his wife and daughter, and all of their drama.

This witty story has readers laughing as Florence charms them with her wit and blunt personality.


8. The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry – Rachel Joyce

Are you interested in reading more novels like A Man Called Ove where a character reflects on what’s really important about like?

The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry by Rachel Joyce is a great coming-of-age story that centers around memories, love, and the things people regret.

While Harold Fry thought he married the love of his life, his wife seems to be more annoyed by him each day. Harold’s life changes one day when he receives a letter from a woman he hadn’t seen in years, Queenie.

She is in hospice and wrote to him to say her final goodbye. Harold decides he must visit her in person, walking on foot.

Along the way, he meets an ensemble of interesting characters while putting great thought into what he has at home.

If you like pilgrimage-type books, then you might also like these books similar to The Alchemist.


9. Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand – Helen Simonson

One of the coming-of-age books similar to A Man Called Ove that is easy to fall in love with is Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand by Helen Simonson. 

This story takes place in a small English village, Edgecombe St. Mary focusing on a charming character, Major Pettigrew. He is a proper Englishman that’s devoted to duty and honor.

After the death of his brother, he becomes close with a local Pakistani shop owner, Jasmina Ali. 

The two form a close bond that grows with each turn of the page. However, both characters have labels that society has placed on them, which puts obstacles in the way of their relationship.


10. 600 Hours of Edward – Craig Lancaster

If you’re after more books similar to A Man Called Over because they focus on a character whose routine is shaken up, you should add 600 Hours of Edward by Craig Lancaster to your list.

This story focuses on Edward Stanton, a man living with Asperger’s syndrome and obsessive-compulsive disorder.

Edward has a very particular schedule that he follows down to the very minute. He has specific times that he does things, and he never strays from his schedule.

However, when a new neighbor and her son move in next door, Edward’s schedule falls apart.

This story will tug at your heart as Edward opens up to his new neighbors and faces old grievances from the past.

View it on:


11. Henry, Himself – Stewart O’Nan

If you’re in the search of novels similar to A Man Called Ove, you should pick up a copy of Henry, Himself by Stewart O’Nan.

This story focuses on Henry Maxwell, a man who has devoted his life to hard work and living with honor. However, at the age of 75, he wonders if he let life pass him by. 

This leads Henry to look back on his past and appreciate the present. Henry compares the decisions he has made and the dreams he has had, as he reflects on his life in this coming-of-age novel.


Heartwarming Books Like A Man Called Ove

A Man Called Ove has received a lot of good reviews for being a heartwarming tale. If you want to read a book that leaves you with a similar feeling, you need to check out the following novels.

12. The 100 Year Old Man Who Climbed Out the Window and Disappeared – Jonas Jonasson

Every once in a while books like A Man Called Ove comes out and find a permanent spot in the reader’s heart. 

The 100 Year Old Man Who Climbed Out The Window and Disappeared by Janos Jonasson is one of them. 

When Allan Karlsson is placed in a nursing home, he doesn’t agree with the decision and makes his own escape through the window in his slippers.

Allan goes on a journey that will have you laughing as you turn the pages. He meets a variety of new characters and reflects on the life he had.


13. Under The Bus – Kyle Keyes

Under the Bus by Kyle Keyes is a great novel for fans of A Man Called Ove.

Donde Clark and Juanito Lewis are two homicide detectives from New York City that get transferred to the small town of Hobb’s creek. Merely a few days later, a local banker was gunned down in front of his cabin. 

The local police chief thinks he’s in luck with the new detectives in town, while others believe a higher power sent them there.

Readers will be glued to the pages as they uncover what really went down in Hobbs Creek.

View it on:


14. Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine – Gail Honeyman

Are you looking for books like A Man Called Ove that prove anyone can make a friend? You need to add Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine to your list.

Eleanor Oliphant makes a point to avoid human interaction as much as possible. Social skills aren’t her strong suit.

However, things change when she meets Raymond, the IT guy from the office she works at.

When a chance encounter puts the two of them in each other’s lives, they begin to help each other while forming a beautiful friendship.


15. The Nightingale – Kristin Hannah

Many people are on the hunt for books like A Man Called Ove that are a good read for anyone, no matter their age, gender, or walk of life.

The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah is one of them. This story takes place during World War II, but instead of the soldiers, it focuses on what the women go through.

After Vienne’s husband goes off to war, she reconnects with her sister.

These women lead two very different lives, however, each wants to love and freedom. This powerful story is one that readers won’t be able to put down.


Like this post? Don’t forget to save it on Pinterest!


Final Word on Books Like A Man Called Ove

So there you have it, these are our top 15 books similar to A Man Called Ove. In this selection, you will find stories about forming friendships, self-reflection, and becoming part of a community.

Each of these books will touch your heart in the way A Man Called Ove did. 

While we only mentioned 15 books today, there are more like A Man Called Ove. Did we miss one of your favorites? Let us know in the comments below.

Disclaimer: This website uses affiliate links, meaning I may earn a commission if you make a purchase through a link at no extra cost to you.

About Louisa

Editor/Founder - Epic Book Society

Louisa is the founder, editor, and head honcho of Epic Book Society. Once a published poet at the age of 7, she aspired to become a journalist, but that career hit a wall so here she is writing about books instead. When she's not writing about books, she's teaching English to primary school kids around the world.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.