15 ENLIGHTENING Books Like Can’t Hurt Me

It’s easy to lose focus in life and let negative thoughts climb through. But if you’re someone who wants to change that, you’ve probably read or wanted to read Can’t Hurt Me by David Goggins.

This highly-acclaimed novel talks about how Goggins went from being an overweight, depressed 20-something to a record-breaking athlete. He shares his wisdom on how to overcome obstacles, particularly the ones we give ourselves, and how to adopt a more positive mindset that will help us achieve our goals.

If you’ve read Goggin’s memoir, and you’re looking for similar books, then you’ll love these enlightening books like Can’t Hurt Me.

Quick Answer: Top 3 Picks!

Need a book but don’t have much time? No worries, here are our top three favourites!

Our Favourites!

#1 Best Highly Acclaimed Novel

Never Split The Difference by Chris Voss

  • Lessons from a former hostage negotiator for the FBI, Chris Voss
  • A Wall Street Journal Bestseller
  • Important and enlightening

#2 Best in Biographies

Rich Dad, Poor Dad by Robert T. Kiyosaki

  • #1 Personal Finance book of all time
  • 40 million copies sold worldwide
  • A tale of how a poor dad and his rich best friend have shaped his outlook on life

#3 Best Enlightening Novels

Unfu*k Yourself by Gary John Bishop

  • New York Times bestseller
  • Over two million copies sold worldwide
  • A self-empowering guide to overcoming your limitations

Summary of Can’t Hurt Me (No Spoilers!)

Can’t Hurt Me is the biographical journey of David Goggins, who went from an obese, depressed couch potato to a record-breaking athlete and personal trainer.

He talks about our limitations and excuses for not getting into shape and looking after our bodies, as well as how to overcome them.

The former Air Force serviceman and Navy SEAL didn’t have an easy life. In Can’t Hurt Me, he talks about his childhood, growing up in poverty, and suffering from abuse. This resulted in him becoming overweight and depressed in his 20s, but this didn’t stop him from turning his life around.

Now, he is an ultra-endurance athlete who holds the world record for the most pull-ups in 24 hours.

This is a biography of how to be tough, both mentally and physically, as well as how to challenge your inner thoughts and adopt a positive mindset.


Acclaimed Books Like Can’t Hurt Me

Let’s begin our list with the most notable titles, from highly-rated reads to books by world-renown inspirational speakers!

1. Atomic Habits: An Easy & Proven Way to Build Good Habits & Break Bad Ones – James Clear

If you liked Can’t Hurt Me and are looking for another book that provides simple ways to change your whole approach to life, look no farther than Atomic Habits.

This direct and informative book gets to the basics of building your productivity. Habits.

Author James Clear breaks down the simple ways habits work, how to recognize them and how to re-shape your habits. So that they become something that can help you achieve, not what works against your success. 

The structure of the book is very detailed. You’ll find yourself reading everything over and over just to take all of the amazing information in. On every page, there is a fresh insight into the way our brains and lives work, and revelations that could change your life. 

If you are looking for something that is as inspiring and actionable as Can’t Hurt Me, then Atomic Habits is an amazing option. 


2. The Subtle Art of Not Giving a F*ck: A Counterintuitive Approach to Living a Good Life – Mark Manson

Another book like Can’t Hurt Me, which also embodies a no-nonsense attitude, is The Subtle Art of Not Giving a F*ck.

In his very direct style, Mark Manson approaches life with the view that everything is seriously screwed, so we must figure out the things we give a f*ck about. 

Both serious in approach, with a touch of sarcasm, this book helps you work towards accepting the full messiness of your humanity.

This is a fresh breath of air in the world of inspirational books. A must read, especially if you’re looking for a book to read after a break up!


3. Start with Why: How Great Leaders Inspire Everyone to Take Action – Simon Sinek

Start with Why is another perfect option if you like Can’t Hurt Me. It takes an approach to both business and life that starts with “why?”.

Pulling from real-life stories of success, author Simon Sinek finds a commonality amongst them all. They all asked why, of what they were doing and creating before they even started.

This book asks you to consider why you do the things you do and how are they going to get you where you want. 

This book is similar to Can’t Hurt Me in that it informational and inspirational. It provides you with a simple, direct approach to changing the way you look and both life and business. 


4. How to Win Friends and Influence People – Dale Carnegie

An oldie but a goody! Another book like Can’t Hurt Me is this classic How to Win Friends and Influence People.

This book offers solid advice on how to maximize your interactions with people. You can learn how to make people like you, win people over easily and change people without any problems. 

This book is a staple in the self-improvement genre, but it’s for a reason! It provides excellent, timeless info to make you a better businessperson and a better person in general. 


5. Never Split the Difference: Negotiating as If Your Life Depended On It – Chris Voss

Another book similar to Can’t Hurt Me, not only for its useful advice but because of the background of the author.

Chris Voss is a former FBI agent, who spent most of his work focused on negotiations.

This book is deeply connected to real life, and all the information comes from practical experience.

Voss brings the knowledge that helped him succeed in his negotiations, to everyday negotiations. 


Biography Books Like Cant Hurt Me

The best way to learn about self-improvement, is to learn from others. That’s why we included these incredible biographies like Can’t Hurt Me!

6. Rich Dad, Poor Dad – Robert T. Kiyosaki

This powerful non-fiction narrative is a novel similar to Can’t Hurt Me. The author, Robert Kiyosaki contrasts his father’s “poor dad” with the wealthy father of his friend.

Both men were part of shaping his mindset around money. He discusses how their ideas influenced the way he thinks about money and investing now.

From this childhood learning about money, he explains how you can make your money and your life work for you, not the other way around. 

The narrative is inspirational and hilarious, with tons of great information. If you want a great book that will be a great perspective shift on how you view money and family, this one is for you! 


7. Shoe Dog: A Memoir by the Creator of Nike – Phil Knight

A book directly from the CEO and founder of Nike, this book details Phil Knight’s creation of the iconic company.

If you want inspiration on starting and growing your business, this book similar to Can’t Hurt Me, is amazing. Knight has never been a major public figure, and in this informative memoir he opens up for the first time about the story behind Nike. 

There were challenges and trials in the starting of his business. However, what he focuses on most is how the relationships between him, partners, and employees were what helped Nike grow. Using their shared passion, they grew it into the iconic brand that we know and love today. 

If you are looking for a book to push you toward giant dreams, and push you to new heights. This book is highly recommended.

The structure is gripping, and it’s a quick, fascinating read. If you liked Can’t Hurt Me, Shoe Dog is for you. 


8. Life Without Limits – Nick Vujicic

Life Without Limits is the powerful story of Nick Vujicic, who was born with a rare syndrome, characterized by a lack of all four limbs.

He talks about how he struggled with his disability but eventually built an amazing life out of that struggle. He credits his faith and limitless mindset with giving him the strength to have a life that isn’t constrained. 

This novel like Can’t Hurt Me shows how a hard story can be changed by cultivating a strong mindset and faith.

The book is an amazing memoir, full of practical advice and deep faith, it will help you see your own life without any limits. 

If this book sounds enlightening to you, then you might also like these books like The Alchemist, which are also about living life without limits.


9. The Obstacle In The Way – Ryan Holiday

This simple book by Ryan Holiday explains how we can take the hardest moments of our lives and turn them into our biggest victories.

He explains the very simple formula behind this concept and how you can apply it in your own life. The book is filled with true stories of highly successful people, figures from history, and powerful people from the present. 

The book is a quick and informative read, with applicable structures that you can start right away. If you are looking for a book like Can’t Hurt Me, this is one that will lead to great changes in your life. 


10. Extreme Ownership: How U.S. Navy SEALs Lead and Win – Jocko Willink

This book talks about the mindset behind the success of Navy SEALS, and how we can utilize that powerful mindset in our civilian lives.

It is a hidden gem about how to shape your mind into that of a leader. The powerful techniques outlined in this book have been used by Willink and his business partner to help businesses of all types grow their teams.

Working on a leadership mindset and building teams, these tactics are used to succeed on many different battlefields. 

A detailed narrative about war and business, that takes lessons from both and gives you simple actions to implement in your life. This book will give you a new perspective on success. It will help you lead yourself to the victories you want to achieve. 


Enlightening Books Like Can’t Hurt Me

Can’t Hurt Me was an enlightening and inspiring book. If you’re looking for other books that leave you feeling this way, then you’ll love these similar books.

11. The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People: Powerful Lessons in Personal Change – Stephen R. Covey

Another educational, growth-mindset staple is this classic, The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People.

With seven habits that can be implemented into your life, this book is an easy recipe for success. If you are looking for a book similar to Can’t Hurt Me, one that will reshape your mind into that of the successful person you know you can be, this book is for you. 

With a simple, and informative structure, this book is a classic for a reason, because these methods can work!

Apply the seven habits that Covey explains and you will develop into an unstoppable powerhouse, capable of achieving what you want. This book is a go-to if you want to grow in your life and mindset. 


12. Deep Work: Rules for Focused Success in a Distracted World – Cal Newport

This book is focused on how you can make your work more productive, by strengthening your deep work and focus.

In this fascinating book, Cal Newport outlines advice on improving your working approach.

The book is divided into two sections, the first on the power of improving deep work and the second is an actionable, and intense plan on improving your own deep work and focus.

If you want to make your work more effective, to improve the ways you use your time, this is a critical book to read. It is a book similar to Can’t Hurt Me in its actionable steps to creating a whole, new type of work-life. 


13. Man’s Search for Meaning – Viktor E. Frankl 

This deeply moving memoir is a novel similar to Can’t Hurt Me, in which Viktor Frankl talks about both his and his patients’ stories of suffering.

He outlines how we can deal with, find purpose, and move forward from life’s hardest moments.

As a psychiatrist, with his own story of surviving the Holocaust, Frankl has seen the worst this life has to offer. Yet he came out through his pursuit of finding meaning. 

This book is both deeply painful and deeply hopeful, it details Frankl’s theory that we as humans do not live simply for pleasure, but we exist to pursue what we find meaningful.

If you want to explore what it is that you find important, this book is a great way to start.


14. Unfu*k Yourself: Get Out of Your Head and Into Your Life – Gary John Bishop

This is a simple, hilarious book about approaching the world in a whole new way. Gary John Bishop outlines how to make those big and necessary changes to our lives, in a world where we may feel overwhelmed or stuck.

This novel similar to Can’t Hurt Me, in its profoundly inspirational message, bring humor into the equation of making huge life changes. 

A brisk read, full of sound advice and applicable patterns, Bishop gives a new framework to approach the messy world we live in.

If you want to reevaluate your life and find a fresh start, this book should be on your reading list. 


15. Why We Sleep – Matthew Walker

In Why We Sleep, Matthew Walker gets back to the basics of building a productive life, starting with one of the most essential things. Sleep.

As a neuroscientist and sleep expert, he talks about how effective sleep can be lifesaving. With a list of things sleep can help, from Alzheimer’s to learning abilities, he explains why getting good sleep is essential if you want to live a healthy life.

He also outlines how you can improve your sleeping habits in easy ways every day because the effects of not getting enough sleep can be massive. 

Sleep is what helps us build productive and meaningful lives, it is what regulates us and lets our bodies fully rest. It is the backbone of living in a powerful and productive way. Without good sleep, we really don’t have anything.

This book is important and riveting and comes with powerful recommendations from people like Bill Gates. If you want to start doing things like changing your mindset or growing a business, sleep is the first place you should start.

This book is a must-read for everyone, especially if you think only six hours is enough (because probably is not enough). Highly recommend. 


Like this post? Don’t forget to save it on Pinterest!

Books Like Can't Hurt Me

Final Word on Books Like Can’t Hurt Me

So there you have it, our top 15 books similar to Can’t Hurt Me, from the enlightening biographies to the inspiring self-help novels, these insightful books will be sure to help you turn your lfie around for the better.

Did we miss anything from our list? Let us know in the comments!

Disclaimer: This website uses affiliate links, meaning I may earn a commission if you make a purchase through a link at no extra cost to you.

About Louisa

Editor/Founder - Epic Book Society

Louisa is the founder, editor, and head honcho of Epic Book Society. Once a published poet at the age of 7, she aspired to become a journalist, but that career hit a wall so here she is writing about books instead. When she's not writing about books, she's teaching English to primary school kids around the world.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.