15 Books Similar To Pride And Prejudice

Have you finished reading Jane Austen’s iconic Pride and Prejudice and you’re looking for similar titles? Well, you’ve come to the right place.

Pride and Prejudice is a classic masterpiece, following a coming-of-age love story between the stubborn Elizabeth Bennet and the arrogant Mr. Darcy.

If you’re looking for books similar to Pride and Prejudice then these classic tales, regency-era novels, and modern romances are the perfect next read.


Summary of Pride and Prejudice (Without Spoilers)

If it’s been a while since you read Pride and Prejudice, or perhaps you haven’t got around to reading it yet, here is a quick summary of the story.

Pride and Prejudice is a romantic novel published in 1813 under a pseudonym and was an immediate success. It sold out in its first print and has been continuing to do so ever since.

It follows the vivacious heroine, Elizabeth Bennet, and her romantic clash with the opinionated Mr. Darcy. Elizabeth is the daughter of a clergyman and inherits a sizeable fortune.

She is also intelligent and lively, and perfectly capable of handling herself in social situations.

Mr. Darcy is the son of an English gentleman and a wealthy Irishwoman. He is arrogant, judgmental, and unyielding in his opinions.

Despite their initial animosity, the two eventually fall in love with each other. They must overcome obstacles such as Elizabeth’s family disapproval, Mr. Darcy’s pride, and their own misunderstandings to make it work. 

Jane Austen’s wit shines as her characters dance a delicate quadrille of flirtation and intrigue, making this book the most superb comedy of manners in Regency England.


Classic Literature Similar to Pride and Prejudice

Let’s begin our list with some classic tales from other inspiring and world-renown authors. From the Bronte sisters to Charles Dickens, these are the best classic books similar to Pride and Prejudice.

1. Sense and Sensibility – Jane Austen

Of course, we must begin our list with another fitting novel by Jane Austen herself. What made Pride and Prejudice a masterpiece was the character development of our female protagonist.

If you’re looking for other inspiring female leads, then you’re going to love Jane Austen’s first novel, Sense and Sensibility, written under a pseudonym, “A Lady.”

This 1811 romantic novel is set in southwest England and details the life and loves of the Dashwood sisters, Elinor and Marianne.

As the young ladies find a new home, they experience love, romance, and heartbreak.

When the story reaches its ultimate ending, the reader must decide if the young ladies have reached sense and sensibility.


2. Jane Eyre – Charlotte Brontë 

The story follows the experiences of its eponymous heroine, Jane Eyre, as she grows to adulthood and falls in love with Mr. Rochester, the master of Thornfield Hall.

The novel revolutionized prose fiction by being the first to focus on its protagonist’s emotional and spiritual development through an intimate first-person narrative, where actions and events are colored by a psychological intensity.

Charlotte Brontë has been called the “forerunner of modern writers” like Proust and Joyce, for her emphasis on the private consciousness.

The book is a social criticism with a strong Christian moral core, and some consider it to be ahead of its time because of Jane’s individualistic character.

The novel approaches themes of class, sexuality, religion, and feminism with nuance and complexity.


3. Wuthering Heights – Emily Brontë

Wuthering Heights is Emily Brontë’s only novel. It follows Lockwood, the new tenant of Thrushcross Grange, who was forced to seek shelter one night at Wuthering Heights.

Lockwood was not happy about this, as he did not enjoy being at Wuthering Heights.

Heathcliff discovers the history of the tempestuous events that took place years before. What unfolds is the tale of Heathcliff and Catherine Earnshaw’s intense love.

Catherine, forced to choose between the passionate and tortured Heathcliff and the gentle, well-bred Edgar Linton, surrendered to the expectations of her class.

As Heathcliff’s bitterness and vengeance over his betrayal was visited upon their next generation, their innocent heirs must struggle to escape the legacy of the past.


4. The Tenant of Wildfell Hall – Anne Brontë

The Tenant of Wildfell Hall is a novel about the expectations and experiences of its characters.

It is a powerful and sometimes violent story that focuses on religion, love, oppression, sin, and betrayal.

Helen Huntingdon, the mysterious tenant of the title, and her dissolute, alcoholic husband began to disintegrate when she left him to protect their young son from his father’s influence. She earned her own living as an artist.

Despite being critically panned when first published in 1848, Anne Brontë’s second novel, Wildfell Hall, has been praised by many as a compelling and gripping read.

The Tenant of Wildfell Hall challenges the social conventions of the early nineteenth century in a strong defence of women’s rights, even in the face of psychological abuse from their husbands.

She argues that women are just as capable as men and deserve to be treated with respect.

In her own right, Anne Brontë’s novel has earned her a position in English Literature. Bold, naturalistic, and passionate, it is a masterpiece that her sister Charlotte considered an entire mistake.


5. Great Expectations – Charles Dickens

The novel  Great Expectations is set among marshes in Kent and in London in the early to mid-1800s.

It follows the personal development of Philip Pirrip, an orphan nicknamed Pip, who becomes close friends with other characters such as Miss Havisham, Estella, Joe Gargery, and Abel Magwitch.

Pip lives with his older short-tempered sister, Georgiana Maria, and her husband Joe. One day, while visiting the graves of his mother, father, and siblings in England, Pip encounters the escaped convict Magwitch.

After visiting Miss Havisham and Estella, Pip is eager to grow, learn, and achieve even what seems hopelessly beyond his reach.

It tells the story of an orphan boy named Pip who rises from poverty to become one of England’s most celebrated gentlemen.

Charles Dickens’s last completed novel, Great Expectations, is a work of his artistic maturity and a classic of Victorian literature.


6. Crime and Punishment – Fyodor Dostoevsky

Raskolnikov, an impoverished student living in the St. Petersburg under the rule of the Tsars, commits a heinous act of murder and theft.

This sets into motion a story that is almost unequaled in world literature for its excruciating suspense, its atmospheric vividness, and its depth of characterization and vision.

Dostoevsky’s drama of sin, guilt, and redemption transforms the sordid story of an old woman’s murder into one of the nineteenth-century’s most profound philosophical novels.


Regency Era Novels Similar to Pride and Prejudice

Since Pride and Prejudice was written in the late 19th century, it’s only fitting that these next novels are written in the same style and era.

If you love 19th century romance novels, then you’re going to enjoy these regency era novels similar to Pride and Prejudice.

7. North and South – Elizabeth Gaskell

When Margaret Hale moves to Milton, in the industrial North of England, her whole world changes.

As her sympathy for the mill workers grows, she realizes that they are suffering from social injustice and becomes passionate about fighting their corner.

As she argues with the mill owner, John Thornton, over the treatment of his workers, she finds her attraction to him growing more and more.

The changing landscape of nineteenth-century Britain highlighted the role of women in Victorian society.

Women were able to achieve many successes due to their strong convictions and determination. They were able to participate in many aspects of society, including politics, business, and education.

Gaskell’s novel brilliantly highlights this unique time for women as they worked towards making progress for themselves and future generations.


8. The House of Mirth – Edith Wharton

Although published in 1905, just 5 years out of the 19th century, we can let a few years slide when its storyline is so captivating.

The Age of Innocence was an immediate success after its publication.

It tells the intriguing story of an attractive young American woman, Ellen Olenska, trying to balance her desire for financial security through marriage with her need for a relationship based on mutual love and respect.

This is a story of betrayal, misunderstandings and missed opportunities.

The novel is still widely read today, and its accessible language makes it a great work of English and American literature.


9. Little Women – Louisa May Allcott

Little Women is a coming-of-age story about the five sisters who grow up in 19th century America. The sisters are resourceful, determined, and moral people who learn important life lessons about courage, love, and self-sacrifice.

The book follows the four spirited sisters as they navigate through childhood and adolescence in the civil war era of America. 

A true classic, Little Women follows Jo, Meg, Beth, and Amy. As they navigate life in New England, their father is away at war, and they live in financial hardship. Along with that, they become intrigued by the handsome young man next door.

Little Women is a novel based on author Louisa May Alcott’s own life, and it became an immediate best-seller after its publication in 1868. Three sequels were later published: Good Wives, Little Men, and Jo’s Boys.


Modern Books Similar to Pride and Prejudice

Pride and Prejudice has influenced many writers over the decades. If you’re looking for a similar story but with a more modern flare, then you’ll love these modern books like Pride and Prejudice.

10. Longbourn – Jo Baker

While Elizabeth Bennet and her sisters fuss over balls and husbands, Sarah, their orphaned housemaid, is beginning to feel the constraints of her social class.

When a new footman arrives at Longbourn, the carefully choreographed world she has known all her life threatens to be completely overturned.

In her new novel, Jo Baker takes us beyond the drawing rooms of Regency England to uncover the real world of the novel that has captivated readers’ hearts around the world.


11. Edenbrooke – Julianne Donaldson

Marianne is eager to escape the boredom of Bath and her unwanted suitor. So when an invitation arrives from her twin sister, Cecily, to join her at a sprawling country estate, she jumps at the chance.

Marianne is not sure how she will be able to relax and enjoy her beloved English countryside while her sister snags the handsome heir of Edenbrooke.

Marianne had a frightening encounter with a highwayman, but she also found herself flirting with him unintentionally. This adventure was filled with enough romance and intrigue to keep her mind racing.

Marianne will likely be unable to rein in her traitorous heart, as fate had something else planned for her when she was sent to Edenbrooke.


12. To the Lighthouse – Virginia Woolf

The Ramsay family is on vacation on the Isle of Skye. Mrs. Ramsay, a serene and maternal figure, is tragic yet absurdly humourous; her husband, Mr. Ramsay, is absurdly aggressive and domineering; their children are variously charming and exasperating.

The seemingly insignificant postponement of a visit to a nearby lighthouse turns out to be something of a powerful examination of the complex tensions and allegiances of family life and the conflict between men and women.

If you liked Pride and Prejudice for its character development, then you’re going to enjoy reading To The Lighthouse.

It was listed as one of Time Magazine’s top 100 novels of all time.


13. The Great Gatsby – F. Scott Fitzgerald

Nick Carraway arrives in New York City to work as a bond salesman. He leases a home in the Long Island community of West Egg, across the water from his cousin Daisy and next door to Jay Gatsby’s opulent estate, where he holds spectacular soirées but does not attend them.

Nick is swiftly dragged into the captivating world of the wealthy, penning stories of expensive parties, unattainable love, dreams, and tragedy as he bears witness their illusions and deceptions.

Set during the Jazz Age on Long Island, near New York City, The Great Gatsby provides a snippet of Prohibition-era America, while exploring themes of class, societal expectations, identity, and displacement.


14. Ayesha At Last – Uzma Jalaluddin

Ayesha Shamsi has many responsibilities, including her job as a teacher. She is also in debt to her wealthy uncle.

Hafsa is close to rejecting her cousin’s one hundredth marriage proposal. Hafsa lives with her boisterous Muslim family and is always reminded that she should be careful not to reject any marriage proposals because it would reflect poorly on her in the eyes of others.

Though she is lonely, Ayesha does not want to marry someone chosen for her by her family. She then meets Khalid, who is just as smart and handsome as he is conservative and judgmental.

However, she finds herself irresistibly drawn to someone who looks down on her choices and dresses like he belongs in the seventh century.

When Khalid and Hafsa announce their engagement, Ayesha is torn between her feelings for the straightforward Khalid and the unsettling new gossip she hears about his family.

Looking into the rumors, she finds that she has to deal with not only what she discovers about Khalid, but also the truth she realizes about herself.


15. My Fair Gentleman – Nancy Campbell

Jack would rather be sailing the seas than fixing the mistakes of his grandfather, the late Earl of Stansworth.

He finds that inheriting his grandfather’s wealth and title—along with securing the welfare of his sister and mother—means joining high society and living among the aristocracy.

Fortunately, Ivy Carlisle, granddaughter of a dear friend of Jack’s late grandmother, is willing to teach him etiquette and help him properly introduce himself into society.

Shortly after Jack moves to the city, he discovers that his new lifestyle is more challenging than he thought it would be.

He soon learns that there are conspiracies against him and that he must survive them if he wants to keep himself from falling madly in love with his tutor.

View it on:


Like this post? Don’t forget to save it on Pinterest!

Books Similar to Pride and Prejudice

Final Word on Books Similar to Pride and Prejudice

So there you have it, 15 inspiring books like Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen. Whether you’re looking for another classic literature novel or a more modern tale of complicated romances, there’s something for everyone on our list.

Do you think we’ve missed anything? If so, let us know in the comments!

Disclaimer: This website uses affiliate links, meaning I may earn a commission if you make a purchase through a link at no extra cost to you.

About Louisa

Editor/Founder - Epic Book Society

Louisa is the founder, editor, and head honcho of Epic Book Society. Once a published poet at the age of 7, she aspired to become a journalist, but that career hit a wall so here she is writing about books instead. When she's not writing about books, she's teaching English to primary school kids around the world.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.