Excerpt: Mandate Thirteen by Joseph J. Dowling [Rock Star Book Tours]

I am thrilled to be hosting a spot on the MANDATE THIRTEEN by Joseph J. Dowling Blog Tour hosted by Rockstar Book Tours. Check out my post and make sure to enter the giveaway!

About The Book:

  • Title: MANDATE THIRTEEN
  • Author: Joseph J. Dowling
  • Pub. Date: January 10, 2023
  • Publisher: Manta Press, Ltd.
  • Formats:  Paperback, eBook
  • Find it at: Goodreadsbooks2read.com

Synopsis:

In a world with dwindling birth rates, all young women must submit to compulsory fertility checks at the age of thirteen.

For those able to conceive, a docile existence inside the Birthing Schools beckons—far worse if they fall into the wrong hands.

When the clandestine Baby Farmers, and their brutal leader Miko, arrive to snatch his daughter, Michael must make a split-second choice: risk his own freedom to protect hers… or lose her forever. Mandate Thirteen is a gritty dystopian thriller for fans of Children of Men, A Handmaid’s Tale, and The Running Man.

“An action-packed, cross-country adventure between father and daughter as they dodge authorities, reconnect with old acquaintances, and meet new people (good, bad, and crazy), forging connections at every stop.

I loved every aspect of their journey and how they learned so much about themselves on the way. This is dystopian in every way that matters. A worthy addition to any library.” Preye, Literary Darlings

Excerpt:

About the Author

Joseph always knew he would write seriously one day. That moment arrived in 2020, when his thriving hospitality business was temporarily shuttered. With time on his hands, he quickly fell into an obsession and became a keen student of the craft.  

Since finding the passion, Joseph can’t imagine life without stories rattling around his head. Eager to make up for lost time, he’s been fairly prolific, and his short stories have appeared in several anthologies and literary magazines. Even better, his rejections are getting nicer by the week.

Joseph lives in London with his wife and their Scotty dog. Mandate: THIRTEEN will be his first published novel. Scroll to the bottom of the page on his website to sign up for his newsletter!

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Instagram | TikTok | Goodreads | Amazon | BookBub

Giveaway!

1 winner will receive a $30 Manta Press Gift Card, International.

1 winner will receive a book poster (pictured below), International.

5 winners will receive a bookmark from this etsy store (pictured below), International.

Ends February 14th, midnight EST.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tour Schedule

Week One:

1/16/2023Mythical BooksExcerpt/IG Post
1/17/2023Lady HawkeyeExcerpt/IG Post
1/18/2023YA Books CentralExcerpt/IG Post
1/19/2023Epic Book SocietyExcerpt/IG Post
1/20/2023#BRVL Book Review Virginia Lee BlogExcerpt/IG Post
1/21/2023Two Chicks on BooksExcerpt/IG Post

Week Two:

1/22/2023A Dream Within A DreamExcerpt
1/23/2023bookmama85Review/IG Post
1/24/2023Rajiv’s ReviewsReview/IG Post
1/25/2023@froggyreadteachIG Review 
1/26/2023OneMoreExclamationReview/IG Post
1/27/2023Books and Zebras IG Review 
1/28/2023WanderingwitchreadsTikTok Review/IG Post

Week Three:

1/29/2023Jazzy Book ReviewsReview/IG Post
1/30/2023the book near meReview/IG Post
1/31/2023amandainpa Review/IG Post
2/1/2023The Book CountessReview 
2/2/2023The Momma SpotReview 
2/3/2023Kim”s Book Reviews and Writing Aha’s Review/IG Post
2/4/2023Review Thick And ThinReview/IG Post

Week Four:

2/5/2023@carlysunshinebooksIG Review 
2/6/2023Brandi Danielle Davis IG Review/TikTok Post
2/7/2023Pick a good bookReview/IG Post
2/8/2023NerdophilesReview 
2/9/2023A Blue Box Full of BooksIG Review/LFL Drop Pic
2/10/2023Fire and IceReview

About Louisa

Editor/Founder - Epic Book Society

Louisa is the founder, editor, and head honcho of Epic Book Society. Once a published poet at the age of 7, she aspired to become a journalist, but that career hit a wall so here she is writing about books instead. When she's not writing about books, she's teaching English to primary school kids around the world.

1 thought on “Excerpt: Mandate Thirteen by Joseph J. Dowling [Rock Star Book Tours]”

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.