15 EPIC Books Like I Am Number Four

Whether you’re a fan of the series or just recently watched the live-action movie, there is no denying that I Am Number Four is a unique sci-fi story that leaves you wanting more.

While stories about teens with superpowers aren’t really hard to come by, not many pair action, romance, humor, and loyalty and set them in a meticulously built science fiction world quite the way this one does.

Touted as one of the must-read sci-fi books of this generation, I Am Number Four is the first book in a series full of action, romance, and found family. If this sounds like your cup of tea, you might be on the hunt for something like it. Try out one of these books similar to I Am Number Four.

Quick Answer: Top 3 Picks!

Need a book fast but don’t have much time? Here are our top 3 favourites!

Our Favourites!

#1 Best in Sci-Fi

The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

  • Winner of the Red House Children’s Book Award in 2014
  • Winner of a A YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adult in 2014
  • About an alien race who come to Earth

#2 Best in Fantasy

The Lost Hero by Rick Riordan

  • Winner of the Best Children’s Book of the Year by Barnes & Noble in 2010.
  • Winner of the Junior Young Reader’s Choice Award in 2013.
  • About a school trip that goes wrong…

#3 Best in Young Adult

Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi

  • New York Times and USA Today bestselling author
  • For fans of Hunger Games, Divergent and I Am Number Four
  • A story of forbidden romance and survival

Summary of I Am Number Four (No spoilers!)

When the terrible Mogadorians attacked their home planet Lorien, nine aliens fled. They dispersed on Earth and went into hiding. They appear to be average teenagers. Talk like them. Live with the rest of us. But they have extraordinary powers. They are stronger and faster than anything imaginable.

Their plan was to grow, train, and become strong. Become one and fight the Mogs. But the Mogs found them first.

Now all nine are on the run. Spending their lives in shadows, in places where no one would look, blending in.

The Mogs killed Number One in Malaysia, Number Two in England, and Number Three in Kenya. John Smith is number four, and he knows that he’s next.

Always changing his identity and moving to different towns with his Cepan, Henri, John has no real past and no true home. However, in the little Ohio town where he now resides, he discovers love, powerful new abilities, and a connection to others of his kind. And he will do anything to protect it.


Sci-Fi Books Similar to I Am Number Four

If you like the way Pittacus Lore blends science fiction elements into everyday life, then you’re probably looking for something with a similar flare. These sci-f books like I Am Number Four will give you just that!

1. The 5th Wave – Rick Yancey

Cassie is a survivor of the 4th Wave, and only one rule applies: trust no one.

Now, it’s the dawn of the 5th wave. The mothership can always be seen in the sky, but no one really knows who these aliens are, only that they look like humans. Now they roam the countryside killing anyone they see.

When soldiers come to take the children to safety, Cassie is forced to be separated her brother Sammy and watch her father shot as the commander murders the rest of the people in Camp Ashpit.

Cassie believes that staying alone is the only way to stay alive… until she meets Evan Walker. Beguiling and mysterious, Evan may be Cassie’s only hope for saving her brother—or maybe herself. But that means she’ll have to make a choice between trust or despair.

The 5th Wave is the winner of the Red House Children’s Book Award in 2014 and A YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adult, also in 2014.


2. Hunger – Michael Grant

It’s been three months since all of the adults vanished and everyone under the age of fifteen became trapped in the FAYZ. Food ran out several weeks ago.  And every day, more and more children gain magical abilities that distinguish them from others.

Tensions are rising, and the community is falling into pandemonium. Every child is out for himself, and even the decent ones become homicidal.

However, a deeper issue is looming. A terrifying monster hidden deep in the hills begins beckoning to some of the FAYZ’s teens. A darkness has awoken, and it’s hungry.

This is perfect for fans of superpowered stories that keep you on the edge of your seat like I Am Number Four.


3. Ashfall Legacy – Pittacus Lore

Syd Chambers has lived his entire life on the run. His mother has a number of identities that they may use to disappear and remain safe. It wasn’t long ago that he discovered the truth: that there is life on other planets, his father was from a faraway world known as Denza, and he has been missing—and assumed dead—for years.

When Syd beats an unbeatable game that is linked to the Internet, he is found. Lucky for him he is found by his uncle. Now Syd must leave Earth and complete his own mission.  But along the way, he discovers a deadly, unbearable secret that could destroy Denza, Earth, and the universe.

If you’re looking for more books like I am Number Four, you are bound to enjoy this one by the same author.


4. Edgewood – Karen McQuestion

Russ Becker’s method of dealing with his chronic insomnia is to explore the dark streets late at night. But all changes when he sees an unusual cosmic occurrence and realizes he has tremendous superpowers.

And he isn’t alone. Three others—beautiful Mallory, arrogant Jameson, and enigmatic Nadia—have had the same experience and are now endowed with supernatural abilities. Mallory possesses mind control, Jameson can manipulate items with his thoughts, and Nadia has empathic abilities.

The four enjoy their newfound abilities at first, but things take a serious turn when they realize they are being pursued by an organization that wants them for its own evil goals.  What happens will change them all in ways they never expected.

View it on:


5. Life As We Knew It – Susan Beth Pfeffer

When a meteor knocks the moon closer to earth, high school sophomore Miranda, her two brothers, and their mother retreat to the unexpected safe haven of their sunroom to take shelter, where they subsist on stockpiled food and limited water in the warmth of a wood-burning stove.

How should her family plan for the future when global tsunamis wipe away coastlines, earthquakes shake continents, and volcanic ash obscures the sun?

As summer turns to Arctic winter, Miranda and her family battle to cling on to the most precious resource of all—hope—in an increasingly bleak and alien environment.


6. The Kill Order – James Dashner

Mark and Trina were there when sun flares hit the earth and mankind fell to disease. And they survived.

But surviving the sun flares was easy compared to what came next. A plague of fury and lunacy is now sweeping the eastern United States, and its origins are suspect. Worse, it’s evolving, and all evidence points to it bringing mankind to its knees.

Mark and Trina are sure that there is a way to keep those who are still alive from succumbing to insanity. And they’re determined to discover it—if only to survive. Because every life has a cost in this new, ravaged world. And you’re worth more dead than alive to some.

This is perfect for sci-fi fans who are looking for similar books to I Am Number Four!


Fantasy Books like I Am Number Four

Sometimes the best part of a book is the fantasy world you find yourself in. Even better if they are a blend of both sci-fi and fantasy. If that appeals to you, then check out these fantasy books similar to I Am Number Four!

7. Maximum Ride: The Angel Experiment – James Patterson

Maximum Ride and her friends are regular kids, except they have wings and can fly. And that’s just the beginning of their powers.

When Angel, the crew’s youngest member, is abducted, her friends must go to Death Valley, California, to save her. However, they soon find themselves in yet another nightmare: battling the half-human, half-wolf “Erasers” in New York City.

They have no idea where they came from, who is chasing them, and why they are different from all other people. As they search for answers, Max discovers that her real purpose is to save the world. But can she?


8. The Prisoner of Cell 25 (Michael Vey, Book 1) – Richard Paul Evans

On the outside, Michael Vey is an ordinary fourteen-year-old with Tourette’s syndrome. But Michael is anything but ordinary. Michael possesses extraordinary powers. Electric powers.

Michael believes he is unique until he finds that a cheerleader called Taylor also possesses special abilities. With the help of Michael’s friend, Ostin, the three of them set out to discover how Michael and Taylor ended up this way. But their search only brings unwanted attention.

Now they are being hunted by a powerful organization that wants to use them to control the world. Michael and his friends will have to rely on each other, their wits, and their powers to survive.


9. The Lost Hero – Rick Riordan

Jason has no recollection of anything prior to waking up aboard a bus full of kids on a field trip. He appears to have a girlfriend named Piper and a close buddy named Leo.

They’re all students at the Wilderness School, which Leo describes as a boarding school for “bad kids.” What happened to Jason to bring him here? And where is here, exactly? Jason knows nothing except that something is extremely wrong.

When a violent storm strikes the school trip, releasing weird monsters and taking Jason, Piper, and Leo away to Camp Half-Blood, he realizes he’s going to get the answers to his questions, whether he wants to or not.

The Lost Hero was the winner of the Best Children’s Book of the Year by Barnes & Noble in 2010 and winner of the Junior Young Reader’s Choice Award in 2013.


10. Wanderlust – Karen McQuestion

Mallory, Russ, Jameson, and Nadia are just typical teenagers attempting to blend in while covertly learning to harness their newfound skills.

Everything changes when they are asked to travel to Peru under the supervision and safety of the Praetorian Guard, a group that claims to be looking out for their best interests.

The kids, seeing the trip as a challenge, agree to travel and assist in the hunt for David Hofstetter, a guy from their community who has been considered dead for sixteen years. However, when deciding who to trust gets more difficult, the four realize they can only rely on one another.

If you are looking for similar books to I Am Number Four, this one definitely needs to be on your list!

View it on:


Young Adult Books Like I Am Number Four

I Am Number Four is considered one of the must-read sci-fi books in the Young Adult genre. If you’re looking for some similar YA books to I Am Number Four, here are some of our favorites!

11. The Power of Six – Pittacus Lore

Initially, nine aliens fled their home planet Lorien when it was attacked by the wicked Mogadorians. They dispersed and went into hiding on Earth. They look like ordinary teenagers but have extraordinary powers.

Now there are six left. They killed Number One in Malaysia, Number Two in England, and Number Three in Kenya. They tried to get John Smith, Number Four, in Ohio—but they failed.

Now that John has teamed up with Number Six, they are on the run. They are not, however, alone.

Marina, Number Seven, who has been hiding in Spain, has already been inspired by John and Six. She’s been watching the news to see what’s going on, and she’s positive this is the sign she’s been looking for.

If you liked I Am Number Four, then you are sure to enjoy the next book in the series!


12. The Maze Runner – James Dashner

When Thomas wakes up in the Glade, he is surrounded by a group of teenagers. Like him, their memories have been wiped, and they have no idea where they are or how they got there. They only know they have to escape.

But it’s not that simple. Outside the towering stone walls that surround the Glade is a limitless, ever-changing maze. It’s the only way out—and no one’s ever made it through alive.

Because the maze is only accessible for a certain time each day, the gang only has a limited amount of time to find the exit before the door is locked and they are trapped in the maze forever.

Will Thomas and his friends escape? Will they learn the truth about the maze and how they came to be there?


13. The Darkest Minds – Alexandra Bracken

Darkest Minds follows sixteen-year-old Ruby, one of the dangerous ones. On her tenth birthday, she woke up with frightening abilities she cannot control, prompting her to be sent to Thurmond, a brutal government “rehabilitation camp.”

Ruby barely leaves Thurmond alive when the truth is revealed. She’s now on the run, hoping to locate East River, the last safe place for children like her.

But nothing is as it appears when they arrive at East River, least of all its enigmatic leader. Worst of all, there are other forces at work, those who will go to any length to use Ruby against the government.

Ruby will be forced to make a dreadful decision, one that may mean foregoing her sole opportunity at a life worth living.


14. Endgame: The Calling – James Frey and Nils Johnson-Shelton

For ten thousand years the lines have existed in secret. The 12 original lines of humanity. Each had to have a Player prepared at all times. But they never thought Endgame would happen. Until now.

Sarah Alopay stands at her graduation ceremony in Omaha, Nebraska, class valedictorian, star athlete, and a full life ahead of her. But when a meteor strikes the school, she is the sole survivor.

Twelve meteors collide with Earth around the world. Cities are on fire. But Sarah and the other eleven Players know the truth. 

The meteors are sending a message. The Calling has summoned the Players. And now they must battle each other to survive. Only one will succeed. However, that one will save the planet.

With superpowered teens and a fight against an interstellar foe, this is perfect for those who like I Am Number Four.


15. Ignite Me – Tahereh Mafi

With the fate of Omega Point unknown, Juliette doesn’t know if everyone she has ever cared about is alive or dead. The war could be over before it ever really began. But that won’t keep her from trying to take down The Reestablishment once and for all.

Juliette is the only one standing in the path of The Reestablishment. She understands that if she is to survive, The Reestablishment cannot. She must now rely on Warner, the Sector 45 commander. The very person she thought she would never trust.

He vows to assist Juliette in mastering her abilities and saving their dying world… but that’s not all he wants from her.

The third book in the Shatter Me series is perfect for fans who crave action-packed young adult, forbidden romance novels like I Am Number Four.


Like this post? Don’t forget to save it on Pinterest!


Final Word on Books Like I Am Number Four

So, there you have it, our top 15 books like I Am Number Four. Whether you like the story for its hero-in-hiding plot, romance, or sci-fi setting, you’ll definitely be able to find your next read on this list.

Did we miss anything? Let us know in the comments!

Disclaimer: This website uses affiliate links, meaning I may earn a commission if you make a purchase through a link at no extra cost to you.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.