17 Heartwarming Books Like The Love Hypothesis

If you’re in the mood for a sweet, tender, and gripping romance novel, then it’s no surprise The Love Hypothesis comes to mind.

Although fake relationship romances are nothing new, what I loved about The Love Hypothesis was that neither of the main characters needed love. Love found them.

In fact, I even got asexual vibes from our protagonist Olive, which is two thumbs up from Epic Book Society!

I’m not a fan of fairy tale romances. I like my love stories to be real, believable, and more than just falling in love.

The Love Hypothesis delivers this effortlessly.

But what other books are out there that offer the same kind of romance? Are there any similar books to The Love Hypothesis that have that believable, witty storyline? 

The simple answer is yes! Here are some of my favorite books like The Love Hypothesis for those who enjoy a heartwarming romance story.


Quick Answer: Top 3 Picks

But first, if you don’t have much time and need a book fast, take a look at my top three favorites:

Our Favourites!

#1 Best Highly Acclaimed Novel

The Spanish Love Deception by Elina Armas

  • Written by a New York Times and USA Today bestseller
  • Another fake relationship romance
  • A witty storyline with a slow-burning angst romance

#2 Best in Contemporary Romance

People We Meet on Vacation by Emily Henry

  • An adorable friends to lovers romance story
  • From the New York Times bestselling author of Beach Read
  • Winner of the 2021 Goodreads Choice Awards for Best Romance

#3 Best Romantic Comedy

The Unhoneymooners by Christina Lauren

  • A funny enemies to lovers romance novel
  • A New York Times bestselling author
  • About a wedding where everyone gets food poisoning, except two enemies, who end up taking the honeymoon

Summary of The Love Hypothesis

But before we go into the top similar books, let’s quickly recap the story. Don’t worry, I won’t reveal any spoilers if you’re still reading!

The Love Hypothesis is a Tik-Tok sensation written by New York Times bestselling author, Ali Hazelwood. 

The story follows Olive Smith, a third-year PHD candidate who has always put her career first.

She has analyzed everything about her life and came to the conclusion that she doesn’t believe in long-term relationships.

However, her best friend is a hopeless romantic who won’t get off of her case.

In a rash decision to convince her best friend that her love life is fine, Olive kisses the first man she sees.

This man just happens to be Adam Carlson, a well-known hotshot professor. 

In a bid to get her friend off her case, the pair enter a fake relationship romance.

Despite his reputation for being a grade-A jerk, Adam surprises Olive with how supportive he is when she really needs someone in her corner. 

Could she be wrong about relationships all this time? This is a heartwarming medical romance novel with a gripping storyline.


Books Like The Love Hypothesis

Now you remember what The Love Hypothesis is about, it’s time to show you the top books similar to The Love Hypothesis…

1. People We Meet on Vacation – Emily Henry

Unlikely best friends Poppy and Alex live apart year-round, except for a singular week during summer vacation, which they’ve been spending together every year for a decade—until one trip changes everything and creates a rift between them that lasts for two whole years.

Emily Henry’s People We Meet on Vacation is sure to quench your thirst for books like It The Love Hypothesis, as it explores the complicated truth that stands in the way of Alex and Poppy’s perfect reconciliation, juggling various complex characters and the nuances that make up their relationships. 

An adorable friends-to-lovers romance, and the winner of the 2021 Goodreads Choice Awards for Best Romance, People We Meet on Vacation is an ode to being true to yourself and your feelings.


2. The Unhoneymooners – Christina Lauren

The Unhoneymooners is a rom com about the unlucky twin, Olive Torres, who is at her sister’s wedding. Only she has to confront the annoying best man, and her nemesis, Ethan Thomas.

Olive puts on a brave face, but disaster strikes when the entire wedding party comes down with food poisoning. Now, there’s a honeymoon arranged and no one to go on it. 

Ethan jumps at the chance, but Olive won’t let this annoying man take this trip to paradise alone.

The pair travel to Maui for ten days of bliss. But pretending to be newlyweds is easier than they thoughts… in fact, they kind of like it too much…


3. The Spanish Love Deception – Elena Armas

The Spanish Love Deception by Elena Armas ticks all the boxes if you’re looking for a sizzling enemies to lovers, fake relationship romance story. 

It’s playful and funny, and restores your faith in love. The story follows Catalina Martín’s desperate attempts to find someone who’ll pretend to be her boyfriend for a transatlantic journey to a wedding in Spain. 

Although she cannot tolerate him, her colleague Aaron Blackford seems like the unlikely best choice—rather, the only choice Catalina has—and they embark on a trip that will change their relationship forever. 

Swoon-worthy and steamy, The Spanish Love Deception is a story about the rambunctious wedding that brings Catalina and Aaron together.


4. The Deal – Elle Kennedy

The Deal is part of the ‘Off Campus’ series by Elle Kennedy but can be read as a standalone novel. It follows good girl Hannah Wells who has finally met a boy who sparks an interest in her. There’s only one thing though, she’s not confident in the bedroom.

To make him notice her, she steps out of her comfort zone, even if it means tutoring the cocky captain of the Hockey Team so she can set up a pretend date.

Garrett Graham has only ever wanted to play hockey in a professional league but his GPA is threatening his future prospects. When he meets the sarcastic Hannah Wells, he’s only interested in improving his GPA and making it to the professional league.

However, one kiss between them leads to a night in the bedroom they will never forget. Is a deal of a date to seduce another going to cut it for Garett?


5. Beautiful Disaster – Jamie McGuire

If you liked The Love Hypothesis, then you will love Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire. First, we have the good girl Abby Abernathy. She doesn’t drink, smoke, or swear and is fully focused on her first year at university.

Then we have playboy Travis Maddox. He gambles, fights, and plays with every girl he meets. Travis is basically everything Abby wants to avoid. 

Every girl he has ever met has been charmed by his wits, so Travis is taken aback when Abby ignores his advances. Getting ignored is not something he is used to, so Travis goes the extra length to get into Abby’s books.

He makes a bet. If he loses, he can’t hook up with any females for a month. If Abby loses, she has to move into his apartment for a month. Who will win this bet? This is a brilliant light angst romance novel with a bad boy MC.


6. Ugly Love – Colleen Hoover

Colleen Hoover is well known for her powerful romance stories, with just the right amount of suspense and a believable storyline. If you loved the slow-burn relationship of The Love Hypothesis, then Ugly Love should be added to your reading list.

When Tate Collins meets Miles Archer, it certainly isn’t love but most defiantly attraction. Once they both realize they want the same thing.

He isn’t ready for love, and she has no space for it. The arrangement works for a while, as they stick to the rules “Never ask about the past. Don’t expect a future.”

At first, things go ok, Tate thinks she can handle it. Then stuff starts to get complicated. Things break and the rules are abandoned. Their love gets ugly.


7. Restore Me – J.L. Seegars

Restore Me is a forbidden romance novel about finding love after loss. It’s similar to The Love Hypothesis in the way that the main protagonists are not looking for love, but love finds them.

It follows Dominic Alexander and Sloane Kent who are falling for each other hard, only Dominic is Sloane’s late husband’s best friend. Eep! 

At first, they hate each other. Sloan finds Dominic arrogant and dismissive, and definitely off the table given their history. But little does she know that Dominic’s attitude towards her isn’t because he hates her…rather the opposite.

After one drunken night, everything changes…

View it on:


8. Some Kind of Magic – Mary Ann Marlowe

Some Kind of Magic is the debut novel by Mary Ann Marlowe and what a first novel! The story follows a hapless scientist who falls in love with a rock star — but is it love or chemical?

Eden Sinclair is a Biochemist and is unaware that the scent she spritzed on herself at the lab was not perfume, but an enhanced pheromone. 

When cute Adam Copeland, a grungy-looking guy she meets at a gig, who also happens to be a rock star who is loved by many women, she realizes the truth. Only she realizes after spending the night with him…

When this gorgeous rock god wants to see her again, Eden isn’t being honest about the spray. The thought that his attraction could be nothing more than a chemical reaction is too much to bear.

The only way to find out if the love is genuine is to ditch the perfume and see what happens…


9. The Soulmate Equation – Christina Lauren

If you’ve already read The Unhoneymooners and you’re looking for other romantic comedies to get stuck into, then you’re going to love Christa Lauren’s other bestseller, The Soulmate Equation.

This book is similar to The Love Hypothesis in that it also has a storyline about two people bought together by science…or fate.

The story follows a single mom, Jess Davis, who is a statistics whizz. Her father was never around and her mother disappeared when she was six, and her ex decided he didn’t want to be a father – so she’s not overly fond of relationships.

But then Jess learns about a new DNA-based matchmaking company, GeneticAlly, and she’s intrigued. Can she find her soulmate through DNA?

When her test shows an impossible 98 percent match with the company’s founder, Dr. River Peña, she’s even more intrigued.

She already knows Dr. Peña and she knows he’s stubborn and arrogant. Hardly soul-mate material. But when she starts to get to know him, maybe the test wasn’t that far off…


10. Things We Never Got Over – Lucy Score

You wouldn’t expect it from the cover, but Things We Never Got Over is a bad boy romance book about a bearded barber called Know who prefers to fly solo. Until a runaway bride comes along.

Naomi wasn’t just running from her wedding but trying to rescue her twin from the rough town of Knockemout, Virginia, where disputes are settled in bar brawls.

But Naomi’s evil twin hasn’t changed and stole her car and cash. She also leaves her with something unexpected, her niece, who she didn’t know she had.

Now she’s stuck with no car, no money, no job, and no home, with an 11-year-old to take care of.

Knox doesn’t do high-maintenance women, but as Naomi’s life imploded right in front of him, he decides to help her out. So much for living a solitary life…

This is a single parent romance book with a slow burning romance that goes from lust to love. It’s a little different from The Love Hypothesis in that it’s more steamy, but the storyline has similar themes of “I’m fine on my own, thanks!”

View it on:


11. Ever After Always – Chloe Liese

Ever After Always is the third book in the Bergman Brothers series, but each book can be read as a standalone story.

The story follows Aiden and Freya who are about to embark on an emotional rollercoaster of a journey in a slow-burn, marriage-in-crisis romance story. It’s a book about making love stronger and long-lasting.

Aidan has been in love with Freya for 12 years. She’s his wife, and best friend, and he wants to give her everything. Except there’s one thing he can’t give her – a baby.

With the pressures of family asking when they can expect a child, he starts to freak out. He starts pulling away from her, and soon she has had enough and she kicks him out. 

After being forced together to celebrate her parent’s long and happy marriage, the pair must battle to save their marriage and overcome their insecurities.


12. Love on the Brain – Ali Hazelwood

If you’re looking for books like The Love Hypothesis, you can’t go wrong with another book by the same author, right?

Love on the Brain is the 2022 release by Ali Hazelwood and if you loved The Love Hypothesis, you’re going to love this one!

It has similar themes in that it’s another scientist-themed rom-com where a scientist is forced to work with her nemesis.

It follows the story of Bee Königswasser who is asked to co-lead a project with her arch-enemy, Levi Ward.

But when her equipment goes missing and the staff ignores her, she realizes that she may need the help of her nemesis after all.

As they work more closely together, sparks begin to fly, and no, it’s not just chemicals reacting in the lab…


13. Book Lovers – Emily Henry

Book Lovers tells the story of a literary agent, Nora, and a book editor, Charlie, who both share a love of literature.

Whilst working tirelessly on their jobs, they find themselves coincidentally meeting time and time again, which would be fine if they didn’t hate each other.

As they meet more and more, their relationship changes and they start to form a bond, which moves into something more.

This is a slow-burning romance book like The Love Hypothesis with a cute, and sometimes witty, storyline.


14. Make It Sweet – Kristen Callihan

Make It Sweet is an emotional romance novel about finding an unlikely love.

Emma has made a name for herself playing Princess Anya on a TV series, Dark Castle, but when her character gets killed off, it all starts going downhill for her. 

Soon after she’s canceled, she finds her boyfriend in bed with another woman.

She needs to get away. So she heads to the stunning estate of Rosemont, California for some much-needed relaxation and escape.

Only, things get complicated when she meets the owner’s gorgeous grandson and ex-hockey player.

It’s clear they have a growing attraction to one another, and yet they avoid each other.

But then one impromptu nighttime skinny dip changes everything.

This is the story of two people with broken hearts, trying to mend them again. Perhaps their hearts fit together after all…

View it on:


15. Must Love Cowboys – Carly Bloom

Must Love Cowboys is the third in the Once Upon A Time in Texas series, but each novel can be read as a standalone novel.

The story is a sexy cowboy romance story about a bookish beautiful librarian who is in need of a fake boyfriend for an upcoming wedding. 

After she starts tutoring a gorgeous cowboy, Beau Montgomery, who really needs help managing his spreadsheets, she asks him if he would mind being her date.

And he agrees. Only he has a secret – he’s had a crush on her since junior high!

To make matters worse, the town’s gossip mill forces them to keep their fake romance deal a secret and to continue after the wedding… what happens when all these secrets come pouring out?


16. A Not So Meet Cute – Meghan Quinn

Meghan Quinn is a USA Today bestselling author, and A Not So Meet Cute is one of my favorite pieces of hers. 

It’s a romantic comedy about a desperate billionaire looking to find a fiancée.

Often described as a modern-day Pretty Woman, this hilarious billionaire romance novel will have you howling throughout.

It starts when Lottie, a good girl who was just fired, decides to stroll around a wealthy neighborhood in Beverly Hills to search for a husband.

That’s when she bumps into Huxley, a man she takes an instant dislike to…but agrees to marry him anyway. Wait what…? 

View it on:


17. The Summer Proposal – Vi Keeland

Another romance author I love is Vi Keeland, who, like Ali Hazelwood, is really good at combining humor with a romantic storyline I can believe.

The Summer Proposal is all about what happens after a blind date goes terribly wrong…

Georgia ends up meeting a dashing hockey player on the new york hockey team. This cute billionaire with dimples is called Max.

The pair plan to spend the summer together so Georgia can get over an ex, but they exchange sizzling hot chemistry and it turns out Max is just as amazing as he first seems.

Can they really only last one summer?

This steaming hot sports romance novel by Vi Keeland is packed with pages full of fire and passion. It’s a page-turner alright, and as it’s a steamy standalone novel, there’s no cliffhanger to spoil it.


Like this post? Don’t forget to save it on Pinterest!

books like the love hypothesis

Final Word on Books Like The Love Hypothesis

The Love Hypothesis kept me hooked from start to finish and always intrigued by where the main characters would go. I loved the slow-burning romance, the concept of a fake relationship, and a friendship turning intimate.

If you like these themes in your romance novels, then you are going to love the books highlighted in this guide!

If you have any more book like The Love Hypothesis that you’ve read and would like to share with other readers, let us know in the comments.

Disclaimer: This website uses affiliate links, meaning I may earn a commission if you make a purchase through a link at no extra cost to you.

About Louisa

Editor/Founder - Epic Book Society

Louisa is the founder, editor, and head honcho of Epic Book Society. Once a published poet at the age of 7, she aspired to become a journalist, but that career hit a wall so here she is writing about books instead. When she's not writing about books, she's teaching English to primary school kids around the world.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.