15 Tantalizing Books Like Beautiful Disaster

We all love a bad boy romance story, which is exactly what Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire offers.

We follow good girl Abby as she arrives at college only to meet the tattooed, stereotypical bad boy Travis who captivates her. The storyline is full of angst, tension and hot, hot romance.

If you’ve just finished Beautiful Disaster and you’re wondering what to read next, then perhaps you’ll enjoy these other books like Beautiful Disaster.

These tantalizing romance books will have you feeling hot under the collar, just like Beautiful Disaster did.


Quick Answer: Top 3 Picks!

If you need a book fast but don’t have much time, don’t worry. These are our top three favorite books similar to Beautiful Disaster.

Our Favourites!

#1 Best Highly Acclaimed Novel

It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover

  • New York Times bestselling author
  • A romance story about two lovers who struggle with commitment
  • A contemporary romance story about a fresh out of college grad falling for a neurosurgeon

#2 Best in College Romance

After by Anna Todd

  • About a good girl who has a nice boyfriend back home, but finds a bad boy in college she can’t resist
  • A five-part series
  • Now a major motion picture!

#3 Best in Romance

Rock Me by Cherrie Lynn

  • A standalone forbidden romance story with a tattooed bad boy Romeo and a sheltered college student Juliette
  • Some smutty scenes
  • From an up and coming Indie Author

Summary of Beautiful Disaster

Before we reveal the best books similar to Beautiful Disaster, let’s quickly recap the story. Don’t worry, I won’t reveal any spoilers if you haven’t finished reading it yet.

Beautiful Disaster is a New York Times and USA TODAY bestselling novel about a good girl in love with a bad boy.

Abby Abernathy doesn’t drink or swear and wears cardigans. She believes she has put enough space between her and her past, but when she arrives at college, her path is challenged after a one-night stand.

Travis Maddox is the epitome of bad boys. He’s clean-cut and covered in tattoos. Exactly the type of man your mum said to stay away from.

He spends his nights’ gambling in a floating fight ring, and by day he is a college campus charmer.

Abby seemed resistant to his appeal, so he tricks her into his life with a simple bet. The rules are, that if he loses, he must go celebate for a month. If Abby loses, she must move in with Travis.

Either way, Travis has no idea what he has got himself into…


Books Like Beautiful Disaster

Now you have a rough idea of the story and what to look for in these similar books, it’s time to show you the best books to read if you liked Beautiful Disaster…

1. The Deal – Elle Kennedy

The Deal is an angsty romance novel that’s part of the ‘Off Campus’ series by Elle Kennedy but can be read as a standalone novel. It follows good girl Hannah Wells who has finally met a boy who sparks an interest in her. There’s only one thing though, she’s not confident in the bedroom.

To make him notice her, she steps out of her comfort zone, even if it means tutoring the cocky captain of the Hockey Team so she can set up a pretend date.

Garrett Graham has only ever wanted to play hockey in a professional league but his GPA is threatening his future prospects. When he meets the sarcastic Hannah Wells, he’s only interested in improving his GPA and making it to the professional league.

However, one kiss between them leads to a night in the bedroom they will never forget. Is a deal of a date to seduce another going to cut it for Garett? This is a steamy fake relationship romance novel.


2. Wait for You – Jennifer L. Armentrout

All Avery Morgenstern wants to do when she starts college thousands of miles away from her home is to forget a dreadful night that happened five years ago—but it’s never that easy in college romance novels, isn’t it?

Meet Cameron Hamilton, former bad boy who finds himself falling for this quirky and unusual girl. Avery tries to stay away, for his presence threatens to shake the foundations of her defenses—but his charm is irresistible.

The love that blooms between them is real and passionate, yet leaves you wondering: will Avery manage to survive unscathed this time?

View it on:


3. The Year We Fell Down – Sarina Bowen

No one can expect the twists and turns life has in store for us, and certainly not Corey Callahan, whose dream of being a varsity ice hockey player falls apart after an unfortunate accident.

Enter Adam Hartley, the boy stuck in the handicapped room next to hers, who shares a similar fate.

During late nights and long talks, Corey finds herself falling for the boy whose unique understanding of her situation offers comfort in a way no one else can—but he’s still hanging on to the life he had before, with his trophy girlfriend right by his side.

The question remains—is Adam strong enough to give up the life he has for the promise of true love?

This is a angsty sports romance book like Beautiful Disaster.


4. The Love Game – Emma Hart

She knows she needs to stay away from him, having seen through all his pretenses.

He doesn’t want her, only her body—but Maddie will still take up the challenge from her friends to play the player in Emma Hart’s The Love Game.

Irresistible bad boy Braden sees Maddie as a conquest at first, but as they dance together in this thrilling college romance story they both learn each had a lot more to offer than they originally thought.

Though their language is crass, their stories are heartfelt and deep. Fall together with Maddie and Braden in this thrilling story.


5. The Partnership – Charlotte Penn Clark

Two vastly different characters find themselves in the Extra Credit class at their college for equally different reasons—writing is Kyle’s kryptonite, while Lani simply doesn’t enjoy standing out, despite her skills.

One thing’s for sure, though—they’ll have to get through this class together if they want to graduate.

Charlotte Penn Clark’s The Partnership is a story about the passion that blooms when two opposites are forced to work together, and inevitably attract each other.

Fun, flirty and light-hearted, though not without its conflicts, this college romance story will give you the perfect break from the real world.

View it on:


6. Rock Me – Cherrie Lynn

Following on with the tattooed, bad-boy theme is the racy novel Rock Me by Cherrie Lynn.

After walking into her local tattoo shop owned by her cousin’s ex-boyfriend Brian, Candace leaves with her new tattoo plus some old feelings that came flooding back.

Unfortunately, the majority of those who know Candace dislike Brian to the point where she has to make a life-changing decision.

A great writing style keeps you entertained whilst the characters have depth, leaving you feeling like you’re in this forbidden love story with them. You can’t ask for more than that!


7. Perfect Chemistry – Simone Elkeles

Nothing says cliché like a romance book with a bad boy titled ‘Perfect Chemistry’. And what’s even more cliche, is the high-school couple featured in this book meet during, you guessed it, chemistry class.

However, this certainly doesn’t take away from the fact this is an extremely well-thought-out and written novel that has incredible substance on every page.

The two main characters, Alex and Brittany, both have an innocence to them but with Alex being the typical macho, boisterous jack-the-lad and Brittany being the popular, pretty one, it combines to make one of the best high-school bad boys romance books available.


8. It Ends With Us – Colleen Hoover

Colleen Hoover’s books are known for being fan favorites and this doctor romance novel is no exception. A story of love; both how painful it is and how beautiful it is. This novel is fast-paced. You won’t be able to put it down! 

Lily hasn’t had an easy life, but things are finally starting to look up. She owns her own business in Boston and is far from the small-town girl she once was.

She meets a gorgeous neurosurgeon named Ryle, and everything seems perfect. But things aren’t always what they seem.

As questions start to rise, an old flame shows his face, threatening to topple the new world Lily has built. Atlas Corrigan walks back into Lily’s life from a past she desperately wants to leave behind. A beautiful, lovely threat. 

So, if you loved the drama, and suspense of Beautiful Disaster, then It Ends With Us is the perfect book for you!


9. After – Anna Todd

After is a series of five young adult romance books written by Anna Todd. The story follows a young girl named Tessa, who just graduated from high school.

Now starting college, her life has been planned to the letter, not just by herself but by over overbearing mother. All was going well until she meets bad boy Hardin Scott, who was rude, arrogant, and cold toward Tessa.

Tessa falls for Hardin, and despite the fact he continues to act arrogant and bullish towards her, she is convinced he feels the same but won’t let his feelings known.

As Tessa’s mom continues to try to control her life, and Hardin’s indifference and small level of affection keep her hooked, she starts to take a journey full of bad choices which leads to an inevitable and predictable ending.


10. Hush Hush – Lucia Franco

Hush Hush is a standalone age gap novel by Lucia Franco and is about 21-year-old Aubrey, a college student who juggles multiple jobs to pay for her education.

Despite receiving a full scholarship to Manhattan University she needs money to take her of her grandmother who was her sole caregiver since the age of 7.

When her roommate sets her up with a job at Sanctuary Cove, an exclusive club where Aubrey is tasked with satisfying ‘clients’ with fetishes. She goes by the name Valentina and is where she meets sexy silver-haired James who is smitten by her.

James is in a marriage of convenience without love, only held together by their child. His wife allows him to visit Sanctuary Cove because she doesn’t enjoy his needs, but as long as he keeps his behaviour private.

When he finds his desires are met by Aubrey/Valentina, she refuses to become ‘exclusive’ with him for fear of losing her job and financial security.

The age difference is not the only taboo here, but the relationship budding through the sex work job that Aubrey has. Not only is the story captivating and romantic, but Hush Hush is also extremely erotic.


11. Punk 56 – Penelopes Douglas

If you’re looking for books like Beautiful Disaster, then you’ll certainly enjoy Punk 57 by Penelope Douglas.

This story begins in the 5th grade, when a young boy, Misha, decides to participate in a pen pal program. Due to a mistake between the two schools, Misha got paired with a female student named Ryen. 

Over the years, they become not only the best pen pals, but the best of friends, always looking forward to a new letter from each other. Three rules are set, no pictures, no phone calls, and no social media.

However, when Misha comes across an online profile with Ryen’s name and personality, everything changes. Will they realize they love each other or is Ryen everything that Misha hates?

View it on:


12. Bared To You – Sylvia Day

Another steamy romance book similar to Beautiful Disaster. Eva Tramell has her own demons, but she is working on them.

When she meets Gideon Cross, sparks fly but she is weary. He has his own struggles and doesn’t want a relationship.

But after a fun night in a limo, what had once been only a suggestion turns into a twisted, complicated relationship.

Suspenseful and steamy, with a powerful woman who knows what she wants at the center of the story. This book is a breath of fresh air, and such a fun read. Perfect for a romance read by the beach. 


13. Ugly Love – Colleen Hoover

Colleen Hoover strikes again in another powerful romance story, with just the right amount of suspense. If you loved the love-hate relationship that Beautiful Disaster is based on, Ugly Love is your next great read!

When Tate Collins meets Miles Archer, it certainly isn’t love but most defiantly attraction. Once they both realize they want the same thing.

He isn’t ready for love, and she has no space for it. The arrangement works for a while, as they stick to the rules “Never ask about the past. Don’t expect a future.”

At first, things go ok, Tate thinks she can handle it. Then stuff starts to get complicated. Things break and the rules are abandoned. Their love gets ugly. 


14. Beautiful Bastard – Christina Lauren

Chloe Mills is a smart, ambitious and hard young woman working her way towards an MBA, but her boss, Bennett Ryan, is standing in her way.

Bennett has returned to Chicago from France to head his family’s massive media business. Little did he know the assistant who’d been helping him from abroad would be around him every day.

He’s never been one for a workplace hookup, but Chloe’s so tempting. And he has to have her, all over the office.

Beautiful Bastard is an alpha billionaire romance novel full of heat, fire, and sultry scenes.


15. Rule – Jay Crownover

Enter, Rule. A complicated, hot-tempered, and rebellious ‘bad-boy’ that unfortunately lost his brother in a car accident a few years prior.

He’s typical guy with a bad boy reputation, with outlandish hair colors and styles, covered in tattoos and piercings, and regularly sleeps around.

Enter, Rule’s love interest, Shaw. Opposite of Rule, she’s wealthy, loyal, and a hardworking soul.

Certainly, one of the more light-hearted romance books of the bad boy good girl sub-genre, Rule is a fun, intriguing, and easy-to-read book that’ll leave you feeling satisfied. If you love a cocky bad boy romance MC like Beautiful Disaster, then Rule might be the one. 


Like this post? Don’t forget to save it on Pinterest!


Final Word on Books Like Beautiful Disaster

So there you have it, those are the top books like Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire. As you can see, there are a lot of similar books with captivating romance stories.

Whether you’re looking for a bad boy MC or a college romance, there’s something for everyone on this list.

Do you have any more to add? Let us know in the comments.

Disclaimer: This website uses affiliate links, meaning I may earn a commission if you make a purchase through a link at no extra cost to you.

About Louisa

Editor/Founder - Epic Book Society

Louisa is the founder, editor, and head honcho of Epic Book Society. Once a published poet at the age of 7, she aspired to become a journalist, but that career hit a wall so here she is writing about books instead. When she's not writing about books, she's teaching English to primary school kids around the world.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.