15 Captivating Books Like Ugly Love

Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover is one of the most captivating books that I have ever read.

One of the main themes in “Ugly Love” is the idea that true love isn’t always pretty or perfect. The main characters, Miles and Tate, are not yet friends and neither enemies either.

Both struggle with their own personal demons and past traumas that affect their ability to fully commit to a relationship.

Despite this, they are unable to stay away from each other and ultimately learn to accept and embrace each other’s flaws and imperfections.

If you are looking for books similar to Ugly Love, you have come to the right place. Here are 15 books that are just as captivating as Hoover’s novel. So if you are in the mood for a good read, be sure to keep reading…


Quick Answer: Top 3 Picks!

If you need a book recommendation but you don’t have much time, don’t worry – these are our top three favorites!

Our Favourites!

#1 Best Highly Acclaimed Novel

The Love Hypothesis by Ali Hazelwood

  • A tik-tok sensation!
  • The love story of two doctors entering a fake relationship
  • Winner of Amazon’s Best Romance Novel, 2021, and Goodreads Choice Award nominee.

#2 Best in Romance Comedy

The Unhoneymooners by Christina Lauren

  • An enemies to lovers story about two wedding guests who end up taking the honeymoon together.
  • Full of hilarious moments.
  • A sweet, slow burning romance story

#3 Best Series Like Ugly Love

The Deal by Elle Kennedy

  • New York Times best seller
  • Good girl tutors college hockey player and they begin a fake relationship
  • Angsty romance novel

Summary of Ugly Love

Before we go into the best books similar to Ugly Love, let’s just quickly recap the story. Don’t worry, I won’t reveal any spoilers, if you haven’t finished reading it yet.

Ugly Love tells the story of Miles and Tate, who meet when Tate visits her brother’s apartment.

Despite initially hating each other, they find mutual attraction and eventually develop a physical relationship.

However, Miles is unable to commit to a real relationship due to deep emotional scars from his past and Tate doesn’t have time for a relationship, due to her stressful nursing job.

They enter a “no strings attached” physical relationship. But of course, with all “friends with benefits” relationships, it’s never that simple.

Ugly Love is an enemies to lovers romance book with some smutty scenes and some thought-provoking elements too.

It makes you realize love is complicated and relationships are hard work – though some are worth the effort.


Top 15 Books Like Ugly Love

Now you know what themes and storylines to look for in books like Ugly Love, it’s time to introduce to you fifteen similar books!

1. The Deal – Elle Kennedy

The Deal is part of the ‘Off Campus’ series by Elle Kennedy but can be read as a standalone novel. It follows good girl Hannah Wells who has finally met a boy who sparks an interest in her. There’s only one thing though, she’s not confident in the bedroom.

To make him notice her, she steps out of her comfort zone, even if it means tutoring the cocky captain of the Hockey Team so she can set up a pretend date.

Garrett Graham has only ever wanted to play hockey in a professional league but his GPA is threatening his future prospects. When he meets the sarcastic Hannah Wells, he’s only interested in improving his GPA and making it to the professional league.

However, one kiss between them leads to a night in the bedroom they will never forget. Is a deal of a date to seduce another going to cut it for Garett?


2. Regretting You – Colleen Hoover

Morgan and her daughter Clara are still reeling from the sudden death of their husband/father.

Amidst the grief, Morgan reconnects with an old flame, Chris.

As they grow closer, Morgan struggles with feelings of guilt and betrayal toward her late husband.

Eventually, she must make a decision between moving on with Chris or remaining loyal to her past love.

At the same time, the relationship between mother and daughter is hanging on a knife’s edge. Clara is forbidden to see a boy she adores, but teenagers never listen to the rules set by their parents.

The novel explores themes of grief, love, and forgiveness.


3. Shatter Me – Tahereh Mafi

Juliette discovers peculiar power in her touch. She hasn’t touched anyone in exactly 264 days.

She accidentally touched someone who died. Later she was sent to the Reestablishment center in the case of murder. No one knows what happened to Juliette or why her touch is fatal. 

On the other hand, the world is dealing with a survival crisis. Diseases spread all across the globe, destroying the large population, food crisis, birds don’t fly anymore, and clouds are in the wrong colors.

The global emergency took the life of a large population. Survival is whispering war to get the necessary items for their well-being.

The government was left with no other option than to use Juliette’s power to prevent the war. Now, Juliette has to make a choice. Choose to be a weapon or be a warrior.


4. Addicted To You – Krista Richie

Are you looking for novels like The Deal that put a different twist on arranged set-ups? If so, you’ll want to grab a copy of Addicted To You by Krista Richie.

Both Lily and Loren have addictions. Loren is addicted to bourbon, while Lily is addicted to one-night stands. Both keep their addictions a secret, only confiding in each other.

As addicts that want to keep their secrets hidden both come to an arrangement. Together, they share an apartment and pretend to be a real-life couple so nobody catches on.

As their addictions begin to take over their lives, both question if the idea of being really together could be better than the fake lifestyle they have been leading. 


5. Love and Other Words – Christina Lauren

Macy Sorensen is a hardworking pediatric resident whose getting ready to marry a rich, older man. Only when a chance encounter with her unrequited love from the past shows up, everything is about to change.

Elliot Petropoulos was a great friend and the first guy she ever loved. When her mother passed away and she and her now single dad took weekend trips to San Francisco, she formed a bond with the geeky boy across the road. He was there for her in a way no other friend could be. Only when he finally coaxed her into opening her heart, he broke it. 

This is one of my favorite second chance romance books because it takes you on a ride of emotion. Told in a mixture of past and present timelines, you follow along as two teenagers go from spending weekends devouring books and sharing their favorite words to battling the emotional connection. 

Now as adults, will Elliot and Macy be able to put what happened a decade ago behind them? And what about Macy’s future husband?


6. The Fine Print (Dreamland Billionaires Series, Book 1) – Lauren Asher

This is a bit of a grumpy boss meets ray of sunshine employee and starts an interracial romance novel that really captures you from the get-go.

Rowan, the billionaire grandson was exiled to the family amusement park where he meets Zahra, a talented and beautiful employee whose ideas may just save him some money, whilst also stealing his heart.

It is a refreshing read with a female billionaire lead who has a backbone and is not afraid to speak up for herself. And a man whose character develops into something we can all desire.

If you love CEO romance books, or billionaire romance books, be sure to check this out.

View it on:


7. The Love Hypothesis – Ali Hazelwood

One of our favorite feel-good novels like Ugly Love is The Love Hypothesis by Ali Hazelwood. Olive Smith is a third-year PHD candidate who has always put her career first.

She has analyzed everything about her life and came to the conclusion that she doesn’t believe in long-term relationships. However, her best friend is a hopeless romantic who won’t get off of her case.

In a rash decision to convince her best friend that her love life is fine, Olive kisses the first man she sees. This man just happens to be Adam Carlson, a well-known hotshot professor who is willing to go along with her “fake boyfriend” plan.

Despite his reputation for being a grade-A jerk, Adam surprises Olive with how supportive he is when she really needs someone in her corner. Could she be wrong about relationships all this time? This is a heartwarming medical romance novel with a gripping storyline.


8. The Unhoneymooners – Christina Lauren

The Unhoneymooners is a rom com about the unlucky twin, Olive Torres, who is at her sister’s wedding. Only she has to confront the annoying best man, and her nemesis, Ethan Thomas.

Olive puts on a brave face, but disaster strikes when the entire wedding party comes down with food poisoning. Now, there’s a honeymoon arranged and no one to go on it. Ethan jumps at the chance, but Olive won’t let this annoying man take this trip to paradise alone.

The pair travel to Maui for ten days of bliss. But pretending to be newlyweds is easier than they thoughts… in fact, they kind of like it too much…


9. The Spanish Love Deception – Elena Armas

The Spanish Love Deception by Elena Armas ticks all the boxes if you’re looking for a sizzling romance story you’ll come to adore. 

Playful and funny, we read about Catalina Martín’s desperate attempts to find someone who’ll pretend to be her boyfriend for a transatlantic journey to a wedding in Spain. 

Although she cannot tolerate him, her colleague Aaron Blackford seems like the unlikely best choice—rather, the only choice Catalina has—and they embark on a trip that will change their relationship forever. 

Swoon-worthy and steamy, The Spanish Love Deception is a story into the rambunctious wedding that brings Catalina and Aaron together.


10. Things We Never Got Over – Lucy Score

You wouldn’t expect it from the cover, but Things We Never Got Over is a bad boy romance book about a bearded barber called Know who prefers to fly solo. Until a runaway bride comes along.

Naomi wasn’t just running from her wedding but trying to rescue her twin from the rough town of Knockemout, Virginia, where disputes are settled in bar brawls.

But Naomi’s evil twin hasn’t changed and stole her car and cash. She also leaves her with something unexpected, her niece, who she didn’t know she had.

Now she’s stuck with no car, no money, no job, and no home, with an 11-year-old to take care of.

Knox doesn’t do high-maintenance women, but as Naomi’s life imploded right in front of him, he decides to help her out. So much for living a solitary life…

This is a single parent romance book with a romance that goes from lust to love, just like Ugly Love.

View it on:


11. Book Lovers – Emily Henry

Book Lovers tells the story of a literary agent, Nora, and a book editor, Charlie, who both share a love of literature.

Whilst working tirelessly on their jobs, they find themselves coincidentally meeting time and time again, which would be fine if they didn’t hate each other.

As they meet more and more, their relationship changes and they start to form a bond, which moves into something more.

This is a light angst romance book like Ugly Love with a cute, and sometimes witty, storyline.


12. Archer’s Voice – Mia Sheridan

When Bree arrives in the small, sleepy town of Pelion, Maine, she just wants to find peace and solace after escaping a terrifying ordeal with an ex.

But she immediately meets Archer, an isolated man with demons of his own.

Archer doesn’t talk to anyone. He needs a woman to help heal his wounds and find his voice, and she needs a man to help her learn to love again.

This is a story of passion, the transformative power of love, and resilience.


13. A Not So Meet Cute – Meghan Quinn

Meghan Quinn is a USA Today bestselling author, and A Not So Meet Cute is one of my favourite pieces of hers. It’s a romantic comedy about a desperate billionaire looking to find a fiancée.

Often described as a modern-day Pretty Woman, this hilarious billionaire romance novel will have you howling throughout.

It starts when Lottie, a good girl who was just fired, decides to stroll around a wealthy neighborhood in Beverly Hills to search for a husband.

That’s when she bumps into Huxley, a man she takes an instant dislike to…but agrees to marry him anyway. What? There’s only one way to find out why…

View it on:


14. The Wall of Winnipeg and Me – Mariana Zapata

Vanessa Mazur is an assistant and housekeeper to the top defensive end in the National Football Organization, but one day she plans to leave. When Aiden Graves shows up at her door asking her to come back, she’s shocked.

The NFL star Aiden, also known as ‘The Wall of Winnipeg,’ would not speak to Vanessa for two years, but after she’s gone, finds he needs her more than he thought he did.

This is a tale of a budding romance, as their chemistry aligns and their feelings for each other blossom. It’s a slow read, but it’s a beautiful sports romance story


15. Fake It ‘Til You Break It – Meagan Brandy

Demi and Nico agreed to a fake relationship. It was meant to convince everyone at school that the star receiver was taken, and they play their parts well.

The problem is, as lines began to blur, one of them ends up falling for the other. But the other doesn’t return the feelings. By the time they realize their mistake, it’s too late. 

The relationship falls apart and hearts get broken. Who wins in this fake relationship game?

This book is similar to Ugly Love in the messages you learn about love and the challenges of entering complicated relationship deals.

View it on:


Like this post? Don’t forget to save it on Pinterest.

books like ugly love

Final Word on Books Like Ugly Love

So there you have it, those are 15 books like Ugly Love and as you can see, there’s a lot of variety on this list.

Whether you’re looking for other books with complicated relationship deals, budding romance books, or books with smutty scenes – you’ll find something for everyone on this list.

If you have another book to recommend to read after Ugly Love, then let us know in the comments!

Disclaimer: This website uses affiliate links, meaning I may earn a commission if you make a purchase through a link at no extra cost to you.

About Louisa

Editor/Founder - Epic Book Society

Louisa is the founder, editor, and head honcho of Epic Book Society. Once a published poet at the age of 7, she aspired to become a journalist, but that career hit a wall so here she is writing about books instead. When she's not writing about books, she's teaching English to primary school kids around the world.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.