19 INCREDIBLE Books Like It Ends With Us

One of my favourite romance books to come out of 2016 was It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover.

The story follows a girl who’s fresh out of college, trying to learn how the world works outside of education when she falls into a tantalising love triangle.

The characters are relatable, and the plot is refreshing and not your average love story. It shows that love is not a straight and narrow road.

If you loved Colleen Hoover’s tantalising romance story and you’re looking for books similar to It Ends With Us, then you’ve come to the right place.

In this guide, we’ve listed 19 other books like It Ends With Us so you know what to add to your reading list.


Quick Answer: Top 3 Picks!

Need new books to read but don’t have much time? No matter, check out our top 3 picks below!

Our Favourites!

#1 Best Highly Acclaimed Novel

Verity by Colleen Hoover

  • Strong female lead
  • Goodreads Choice Awards Nominee
  • An epic twist in the storyline…

#2 Best in Romance

The Spanish Love Deception by Elena Armas

  • A TikTok Sensation
  • Romantic comedy featuring a fake relationship
  • Cute office romance story

#3 Best in Young Adult/Fantasy

A Court of Thorns and Roses – Sarah J. Maas

  • New York Times Bestselling Author
  • Faerie Romances with a bit of light angst
  • Action-packed adventure love story

Summary of It Ends With Us (No spoilers!)

Lily has just moved to Boston after finishing college and is ready to embark on new adventures. She’s used to working hard, and starting her own business was not going to be easy, but she knows that.

When she meets Ryle, everything gets a little bit harder.

Ryle Kincaid is a neurosurgeon whose too good to be true; assertive, intelligent and maybe even a little arrogant. Even though he has a soft spot for Lily, he doesn’t want to settle down. Lily is his only exception.

As their new relationship fluroushes, Lily can’t help but question how Ryle came to be this way. She begins to compare him to her first love, Atlas Corrigan.

Then suddenly, Atlas comes on the scene, and everything Lily and Ryle have built is about to come crumbling down.

This love triangle romance book covers themes of jealousy, abusive relationships and coming of age elements. It talks about what is acceptable in love, what is worth sacrificing and what can’t be compromised on.


Acclaimed Books Similar to It Ends With Us

Let’s begin our list with the most highly-acclaimed and well-known novels like It Ends With Us. From award-winning to social media sensations, these books are worthy of the hype.

1. Verity – Colleen Hoover

If you liked It Ends With Us, it’s not a stretch to say you’ll like Colleen Hoover’s Verity too, despite the difference in atmosphere in these two novels—the author’s skill at tackling charged interpersonal situations still shines. 

Tense and fast-paced, laced with intrigue, it’s a book that you won’t be able to put down.

Colleen Hoover tells the story of Lowen Ashleigh, who was hired to write the biography of Verity Crawford. When she finds her autobiography while trying to complete the injured author’s book, she uncovers a world of secrets.

This forces her to face a complicated dilemma—keep Verity’s secrets, or tell Verity’s grieving husband the truth. Spectacular from its tangled beginning to the explosive end, Verity is a book you don’t want to miss out on.

If you think this sounds exciting, consider reading these other books like Verity.


2. The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo – Taylor Jenkins Reid

A story of a woman’s ambitious journey to stardom, filled with love and tragedy—Taylor Jenkins Reid’s The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo is the book to read if you’re looking for novels like It Ends With Us

Monique is the writer chosen by the legendary star to write the long-anticipated biography of her tumultuous life.

Though she goes into the job confused, Monique finds that there is much more to Evelyn’s life than what meets the eye, and as the two go deeper into the story, the writer finds herself connecting to it in completely unexpected ways. 

This novel is a journey through the dazzling world of old Hollywood and the harsh realities that hide behind its splendor, and above all, the struggles that come with having to face the bitter truth.


3. The Love Hypothesis – Ali Hazelwood

Hilarious and fast-paced, The Love Hypothesis by Ali Hazelwood is a lighthearted novel about the spark that ignites a chemical fire between two scientists who find themselves in a fake relationship.

Olive Smith is a staunch believer that true love doesn’t exist—but her best friend Ahn is the total opposite, and in a fit of panic trying to get Ahn off her back, Olive kisses the first man that comes within her reach. 

She thinks she’s got away just by pretending, but what happens when she inevitably finds herself charmed by the insufferable and irresistibly attractive professor? 

This is one of the most amazing doctor romance novels similar to It Ends With Us, with a touch more sugar and softness—just the right concoction to make for a wonderful romance story.


4. The Song of Achilles – Madeline Miller

Madeline Miller transports us to the Greek Heroic Age with finesse in The Song of Achilles, retelling the story of Homer’s “Iliad” through the eyes of Patroclus. 

You might want to give it a read if you’re itching for more books like It Ends With Us—the story, although fraught with war and bloodshed typical of that time period, is more about the love that blossoms between two best friends, and the consequences that come from an ill-fated promise. 

Unexpectedly tender and emotional, it goes beyond the limits of its genre, exploring a new angle of the undying devotion that lies at the core of Achilles and Patroclus’ companionship.


5. A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder – Holly Jackson

Holly Jackson’s A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder may not be your first choice in your search for novels similar to It Ends With Us, but it’s a worthwhile one.

It tells the story of Pippa Fitz-Amobi as she explores the clues left behind by a seemingly solved murder case that just keeps on unfurling. 

She chooses to do a school project on Andie Bell’s murder and ends up following a trail of breadcrumbs that ultimately lead to a grand and shocking discovery. 

With relatable characters and unexpected, well-written twists, you’ll be thinking about it and trying to solve it even when you’ve set the book down.


Romance Books like It Ends With Us

If it’s romance you loved in It Ends With Us, then you’ll love these similar romance stories.

6. The Hating Game – Sally Thorne

Lucy and Joshua love to hate each other—they’ve created an endless competition in their shared workplace, caught in a deadlock in Sally Thorne’s The Hating Game

The two are at opposite ends of the spectrum, Lucy with a laid-back, easygoing attitude, and Joshua who stays reserved all throughout. 

It’s a high-stakes game for Lucy who’s gunning for an upcoming promotion, but she finds herself looking forward to more than just that as the situation progresses—and it all comes crashing down when they share a passionate kiss during an elevator ride. 

If you’re looking for more books like It Ends With Us, give this novel a chance to get your heart wrenching, and get lost in the angsty romance between these two office rivals.


7. The Spanish Love Deception – Elena Armas

The Spanish Love Deception by Elena Armas ticks all the boxes if you’re looking for a sizzling romance story you’ll come to adore. 

Playful and funny, we read about Catalina Martín’s desperate attempts to find someone who’ll pretend to be her boyfriend for a transatlantic journey to a wedding in Spain. 

Although she cannot tolerate him, her colleague Aaron Blackford seems like the unlikely best choice—rather, the only choice Catalina has—and they embark on a trip that will change their relationship forever. 

Swoon-worthy and steamy, The Spanish Love Deception is a foray into the rambunctious wedding that brings Catalina and Aaron together.


8. People We Meet on Vacation – Emily Henry

Unlikely best friends Poppy and Alex live apart year-round, except for a singular week during summer vacation, which they’ve been spending together every year for a decade—until one trip changes everything and creates a rift between them that lasts for two whole years. 

Emily Henry’s People We Meet on Vacation is sure to quench your thirst for books like It Ends With Us, as it explores the complicated truth that stands in the way of Alex and Poppy’s perfect reconciliation, juggling various complex characters and the nuances that make up their relationships. 

An adorable friends-to-lovers romance, and the perfect book for summer, People We Meet on Vacation is an ode to being true to yourself and your feelings.


9. They Both Die at the End – Adam Silvera

In Adam Silvera’s soul-stirring novel They Both Die at the End, you may think you know what to expect just by reading the title, but Rufus and Mateo’s story is so much more than that. 

In their world, knowing when you die is commonplace, and everyone can find a companion to spend time with in their final hours if they wish to. 

It’s how the two meet, deciding to experience their last day on Earth together—and this story teaches us that every journey can be beautiful and worthwhile, even when you know that there’s an inevitable end of the road. 


10. It Happened One Summer – Tessa Bailey

Tessa Bailey’s It Happened One Summer is a romance novel to read if you’re itching for books like It Ends With Us

After an unfortunate party mishap, Piper Bellinger, Hollywood “It Girl”, gets thrown into a world she can barely stomach—Westport, Washington, the small town she was born in. 

Everyone including herself thinks she won’t make it, but the desire to prove them wrong burns strong as she does her best to get acclimated to this small new world where everyone knows each other. 

Worst of all, burly sea captain Brendan, who challenges her at every turn, won’t get out of her sight. But as the story develops, so will Piper’s feelings—finding belonging in a place where she otherwise never would have thought to look.


Young Adult Books Like It Ends With Us

Looking for a young adult book with similar vibes? Then these fantasy and dystopian young adult books will quench your appetite.

11. The Cruel Prince – Holly Black

Bathed in darkness, The Cruel Prince by Holly Black is one of the books similar to It Ends With Us with high interpersonal stakes, embroiled in political intrigue made fun and exciting for its supernatural elements. 

Jude has lived in the Faerie Court since the brutal murder of her parents at age seven, and ten years later, she wants to stay in it forever. 

The only thing that stands in her way is the presence of the twisted and cruel Prince Cardan, whom she has to go against in order to secure her place in the Court. 

But as tensions rise, and the deeply woven secrets threaten the security of the entire Court, Jude has to change… for the worse. 

Adventurous, cryptic and unpredictable, this fae romance book won’t disappoint.


12. The Inheritance Games – Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Your longing for novels like It Ends With Us will come to an end with Jennifer Lynn Barnes’ The Inheritance Games—riddled with plot twists and puzzles, this novel will be hard to put down. 

Avery’s life twists completely when she becomes the unexpected heir to Tobias Hawthorne’s immense fortune, but she’ll have to fight tooth and nail for it with his four money-hungry grandsons who feel Avery has stolen their birthright from them. 

In the Hawthorne manor secrets just lay waiting to be uncovered, if only Avery can solve the mysteries that cloak them. 

Fast-paced and exhilarating, The Inheritance Games is sure to pique your interest.


13. A Court of Thorns and Roses – Sarah J. Maas

Sarah J. Maas’ A Court of Thorns and Roses will definitely be right up your alley if you’re hungering for books like It Ends With Us

In this novel we meet Feyre, an unruly huntress who gets captured by Tamlin—an ancient and lethal faerie—after she kills a wolf in the woods. 

Trapped on his estate, Feyre feels her fiery hatred for her captor evolves into a passion that’s just as strong. 

But as new threats to this fantastical world become unveiled, will her actions be enough to save the faerie lands from impending doom, and is she willing to give it her all to do so?


14. Anna and the French Kiss – Stephanie Perkins

What happens when the trip to Paris Anna was loathing turns out to create an ill-advised, irresistible romance? 

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins is a lighthearted novel about the relationship that blooms between Anna, an Atlanta girl taking her senior year of high school in Paris, and Etienne, whose swoon-worthy accent is a cross between English, French and American. 

Though Etienne is in a long-term relationship and Anna’s getting serious with her crush back home, newfound feelings between the two blossom. 

Stop your cravings for books like It Ends With Us with this adorable romance novel and get transported to Paris where the big question will finally get answered—will Anna finally get her French kiss?


15. It Starts With Us – Colleen Hoover

There’s no better place to look for novels like It Ends With Us than Colleen Hoover’s long awaited and highly anticipated second installment in the series, It Starts With Us

The novel lays out the story including the point of view of the much-loved Atlas—if you liked It Ends With Us, this book is mandatory reading. 

Explore the roots of the tale as Atlas saw it unfold, and watch how his relationship with Lily deepens as more secrets come to light and more wounds become uncovered through the exciting dual point of view in this book. 

You are sure to love It Starts With Us just as much as you did its predecessor.


16. Love and Other Words – Christina Lauren

Macy Sorensen is a hardworking pediatric resident whose getting ready to marry a rich, older man. Only when a chance encounter with her unrequited love from the past shows up, everything is about to change.

Elliot Petropoulos was a great friend and the first guy she ever loved. When her mother passed away and she and her now single dad took weekend trips to San Francisco, she formed a bond with the geeky boy across the road. He was there for her in a way no other friend could be. Only when he finally coaxed her into opening her heart, he broke it. 

This is one of my favorite second chance romance books because it takes you on a ride of emotion. Told in a mixture of past and present timelines, you follow along as two teenagers go from spending weekends devouring books and sharing their favorite words to battling the emotional connection. 

Now as adults, will Elliot and Macy be able to put what happened a decade ago behind them? And what about Macy’s future husband?


17. Ugly Love – Colleen Hoover

Another powerful romance story by Colleen Hoover that’s perfect for those who like the love-hate relationship storyline, is Ugly Love.

When Tate Collins meets Miles Archer, it certainly isn’t love but most defiantly attraction. Once they both realize they want the same thing.

He isn’t ready for love, and she has no space for it. The arrangement works for a while, as they stick to the rules “Never ask about the past. Don’t expect a future.”

At first, things go ok, Tate thinks she can handle it. Then stuff starts to get complicated. Things break and the rules are abandoned. Their love gets ugly. 


18. From Something Old – Nick Alexander

At thirty-three, Heather is eagerly waiting for her romantic one true loves. But then she meets Anthony and is sure that he’s the one she’s been waiting for and she’s fantasizing about their life together.

It was love at first sight. She brushes any doubts aside and projects all her hopes for true love onto him.

Joe is having the time of his life while on a yoga retreat in Spain. He meets vivacious, witty Amy and soon realizes that she is everything he has ever wanted in a girlfriend. Her intelligence, beauty, and interest in him make for an amazing relationship, and he falls in love.

When two couples meet, the differences between them are easy to see. Suddenly, these fatuous, “falling in love at first sight” relationships are not as stable as they thought…

View it on:


19. Me Before You – Jojo Moyes

Louisa Clark is an average girl living an ordinary life who has scarcely ventured outside their little community. She accepts a much-needed job working for ex-Master of the Universe Will Traynor, who is confined to a wheelchair following an injury.

Will has always had a big life—large deals, intense sports, and international travel—and now he’s very confident he can’t keep it up.

Will is caustic, temperamental, and bossy—but Lou refuses to treat him like a child, and his happiness becomes more important to her than she thought.

When she discovers that Will has his own unexpected intentions, she sets out to persuade him that life is still worth living.

Me Before You is a heartbreakingly romantic tale that questions, “What do you do when making the person you love happy also means destroying your own heart?” It is ideal for fans who are looking for more novels like It Ends With Us.


Like this post? Don’t forget to save it on Pinterest!

books similar to it ends with us

Final Word on Books Similar to It Ends With Us

So there you have it, 19 books like It Ends With Us, from the sweet clean romance to tantalising love triangles. Of course, there are other books that could have made our list, but hopefully one of these epic books tickles your fancy.

Have we missed any? Let us know in the comments.

Disclaimer: This website uses affiliate links, meaning I may earn a commission if you make a purchase through a link at no extra cost to you.

About Louisa

Editor/Founder - Epic Book Society

Louisa is the founder, editor, and head honcho of Epic Book Society. Once a published poet at the age of 7, she aspired to become a journalist, but that career hit a wall so here she is writing about books instead. When she's not writing about books, she's teaching English to primary school kids around the world.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.