15 Spellbinding Books Like The Midnight Library

The Midnight Library by Matt Haig captivated readers around the world. After we finished this story, we immediately wanted to find something similar to read.

In The Midnight Library, there is a library that’s between life and death. When Nora visits this library, she discovers a new life inside every book. Each book shows her what could have happened if she had made a different life decision. 

Throughout her time in the library, Nora discovers what life could have been if she had taken a different job, undid a breakup, and taken different paths through other major life events.

Did you fall in love with this beloved story? If so, you might be eager to find more books like The Midnight Library. Keep reading for our top recommendations.


Quick Answer: Top 3 Picks!

Need a book fast but don’t have much time? Here are our three favs…

Our Favourites!

#1 Best Highly Acclaimed Novel

The Paper Palace by Miranda Cowley Heller

  • About finding love at the age of 50
  • The New York Times Number One Bestseller 
  • Longlisted for the Women’s Prize for Fiction in 2022 

#2 Best Young Adult Book

The Unsinkable Greta James by Jennifer E Smith

  • About a father and daughter who seek to rebuild their relationship after the death of her mother
  • Themes of self-discovery and finding acceptance in who you are
  • A sweet and tender story

#3 Best Eye-Opening Book

Such A Fun Age by Kiley Reid

  • A story about a woman accused of kidnapping due to her race.
  • A book about racial injustice and racial awareness
  • Winner of the Goodreads Choice Awards for Best Debut Novel

Summary of The Midnight Library

Before we get into the top similar books to The Midnight Library, here’s a quick overview of the story…

The Midnight Library is a multi-award-winning novel by Matt Haig about a woman who suffers from low mental health and gets to see what life would be like had she made different choices in the past.

I loved this book so much and highly recommend it to anyone that might underestimate the importance of thinking on the bright side of life and appreciating what you have.

When the protagonist Nora decides to end her life, she is taken to a place called The Midnight Library where she can choose a book, which has thousands of books about her life but with one thing different. 

As she begins to read each book, she sees a different future each time. Each is beautiful and terrible in its way…

This is a deeply meaningful book on a touchy subject, but Haig has written it with sincerity and deep emotion.

It won the best Fiction Award at the Goodreads Choice Awards in 2020.


Books Like The Midnight Library

Are you interested in reading more books similar to The Midnight Story? Check out the following 15 titles. 

1. Millard Salter’s Last Day – Jacob M Appel

Another great self-discovery book that fans of The Midnight Library will love is Millard Salter’s Last Day

To avoid the isolation of old age, Millard Salter decides to end his life.

He gives himself one more day to live so he can tie up loose ends and see people who were important to him one last time.

He never expected all the challenges he would face in a single day.

However, feelings for a new friend and something he discovered about his family complicates Millard’s plan. Readers’ hearts will melt as they read about Millard’s day.  


2. The Library of the Unwritten – AJ Hackwith

Was your favorite aspect of The Midnight Library all the different stories in the books? If so, we recommend the fantasy book The Library of the Unwritten.

If a writer dies and goes to hell, their unfinished work will remain in the Unwritten Wing. Claire is the head librarian and keeps an eye on these books.

Characters often come out of the books and try to escape. When the hero of a story escapes, Claire must team up with her assistant and a demon to track him down.

Tracking this hero down is just the beginning. Claire didn’t expect this escape to result in a power struggle between Heaven and Hell. 


3. The Memory Collectors – Kim Neville

If you want to read another unique book like The Midnight Library, we suggest The Memory Collectors.

In this book, Ev has a special gift where she can feel the emotions people leave behind on objects. She destroys the objects with bad emotions and sells those with good emotions. 

Harriet collects these items. She wants Ev to help her make something out of her collection of treasures. The women believe that a museum of memory could help people in the community deal with their emotions.

As the two women come to terms with the gift they have, they begin to uncover truths about each others’ pasts.


4. The Book Of Living Secrets – Madeleine Roux

Another fun story where characters are transported into the lives of a book is The Book Of Living Secrets. Fans of The Midnight Library will enjoy this exciting story.

Adelle and Connie are friends because they have 1 thing in common, their love for the book Moira.

A mysterious stranger offers them a chance to visit the world of their favorite book, which the girls happily accept. However, once they arrive, the world is nothing like it seems. 

There’s something dark hiding inside the world where Adelle and Connie’s favorite characters live. Now, the two must rewrite the story to escape the nightmare.


5. Oona Out Of Order – Margarita Montimore

If you enjoyed The Midnight Library, we think you’ll love Oona Out Of Order. This exciting novel shows readers why they should live in the moment.

Like most 19-year-olds, Oona needs to decide what path she wants to follow in her life. At the stroke of midnight on New Year’s Eve, she faints. Only, when she wakes up, it’s 52 years later.

Every year at midnight on New Year’s Eve, Oona will jump to another era of her life. The ages she experiences are random and out of order. 

This heart-warming book questions the burden of time while showing us the importance of enjoying the moment you have in front of you.


6. How To Stop Time – Matt Haig

Another great book like The Midnight Library is How To Stop Time. This book is by Matt Haig, the same author of The Midnight Library.

Tom wants to settle down and lead an ordinary life as a history teacher. However, there’s one problem. He’s lost in time, literally. Tom’s condition has kept him alive for centuries, and he’s lived through some of history’s defining moments. 

A secret group knows about people like Tom and keeps them protected. There is only one rule that Tom and the others must follow. Never fall in love. This rule could be the one thing holding Tom back from living the life he wants.


7. Before The Coffee Gets Cold – Toshikazu Kawaguchi

What we loved about The Midnight Library is that it showed us alternate versions of a character’s life journey. Before The Coffee Gets Cold takes a similar path.

In this book, there’s a back-alley cafe in Tokyo where customers can order a coffee that will send them back in time. Customers can return to a particular moment to achieve something they’ve always wanted. 

However, this journey does come with strings attached. Every person returning in time must return before their cup of coffee gets cold.


8. Some Kind Of Happiness – Claire Legrand

Some Kind of Happiness is a heartfelt novel that fans of The Midnight Library will love.

What we love about this book is how the main character uses her imagination to deal with her depression.

Things at home are tough for Finley. Things get even worse when he finds out she has to spend the summer at her grandparents’ house, who she’s never met.

The only place where Finely finds comfort is the Everwood forest, which she created in her notebook. 

However, when Finley arrives at her grandparents, she discovers the forest behind their house is identical to her notebook.

Inside this forest lays the wonders of her imagination. But it also takes her on an important journey of self-discovery.


9. The Thing About Jellyfish – Ali Benjamin

For more books like The Midnight Library that explore life, we suggest The Thing About Jellyfish. This book became an instant New York Times Bestseller when it was released.

Suzy knows that everything happens for a reason. After her best friend drowns, she’s convinced that a jellyfish sting caused it.

The events cause Suzy to travel into an imaginary world to prove her theory mentally.

Suzy discovers more about the importance of life, love, and death throughout her journey.


10. The Paper Palace – Miranda Cowley Heller

If you enjoyed The Midnight Library and want to read something romantic next, we suggest The Paper Palace.

This novel has the lead character asking what life would have been if she had followed a different romantic path.

Elle and Jonas are 50 years old and have been friends for ages. They are both happily married but always have one question on their mind. One night, the two friends explore unknown territory and hook up with each other. 

Now Elle is faced with the question of what to do. She begins to explore all the experiences in her life that led to this moment and why she never got romantically involved with Jonas in the first place.


11. The Unsinkable Greta James – Jennifer E Smith

If you enjoyed The Midnight Library, we suggest you add The Unsinkable Greta James to your to-read list. 

Greta followed her heart and became a musician. Her mother has always been her #1 supporter, while her father disapproved of her lifestyle.

After her mother’s death, she agrees to cruise with her father. She views this as their last chance to repair their broken relationship.

Throughout this journey, Greta and her father go on a path of self-discovery. They begin to help each other make sense of the future. 


12. Such A Fun Age – Kiley Reid

If you want to read more compelling books like The Midnight Library, we suggest Such A Fun Age.

Alix has built a brand on building up women’s confidence. She trusts Emira to care for her toddler whenever she has an event at night. 

One night, a racist security guard accuses Emira of kidnapping, and videos of the event go viral. Alix wants to make things right, but this will be more challenging than she realized.

We think fans of The Midnight Library will enjoy this book because it focuses on the importance of empathy and how complicated life can get.


13. Night Theater – Vikram Paralkar

Night Theater is an exciting book that fans of The Midnight Library will definitely enjoy. 

This book follows a surgeon who just escaped a major scandal. He’s known for shady practices. However, one event has him reconsidering how he practiced.

A teacher appears with his pregnant wife and young son. The only thing is, this family was murdered in a robbery earlier that evening.

The teacher presents the surgeon with a chance to make a miracle happen. If the surgeon can fix the family’s wounds by sunrise, the family will get another chance at life. 


14. Louis and Louise – Julie Cohen

The Midnight Library had readers thinking about how their decisions have affected their lives.

Louis and Louise have us thinking about how a moment in time makes a big difference.

Louis and Louise are twins that were born moments apart. They both have the same interests and dreams. However, being of two different genders, each faces a different experience throughout life. 

This book has readers looking at how the characters’ genders affect what has shaped their lives. 


15. Reasons To Stay Alive – Matt Haig

If you want to read more books like The Midnight Library, you should look for more of Matt Haig’s books. One that we highly recommend is Reasons To Stay Alive

One of the main subjects approached in The Midnight Library is depression.

Author Matt Haig has lived with this invisible condition his entire life.

Throughout his novel Reasons To Stay Alive, he gives readers more insight into how he has coped with going on a journey of self-discovery.

What we love about this book is how Matt shares his appreciation for the little things in life. The small joys are what can bring people the most happiness.


Like this post? Don’t forget to save it on Pinterest!

books like the midnight library

Final Words on Books Like The Midnight Library

We hope you found some interesting titles on our list today. There are so many amazing books out there about self-discovery.

If we missed one of your favorite novels like The Midnight Library today, please let us know in the comments below.

Disclaimer: This website uses affiliate links, meaning I may earn a commission if you make a purchase through a link at no extra cost to you.

About Louisa

Editor/Founder - Epic Book Society

Louisa is the founder, editor, and head honcho of Epic Book Society. Once a published poet at the age of 7, she aspired to become a journalist, but that career hit a wall so here she is writing about books instead. When she's not writing about books, she's teaching English to primary school kids around the world.

1 thought on “15 Spellbinding Books Like The Midnight Library”

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.