15 EPIC Books Similar to From Blood and Ash

While the world disputes whether From Blood and Ash belongs in the YA or adult section, we can’t deny that thousands of readers, both adult and YA, are finding Poppy’s story an incredibly thrilling read.

With this book, Jennifer L. Armentrout takes all of the components of a paranormal romance and sets them in a rich, meticulously built fantasy world. With enormous stakes on the line, From Blood and Ash is the enemies-to-lovers romance story that keeps you engrossed until the very end.

While it may be difficult to discover supernatural creatures in fantasy worlds in the same manner, this list of books similar to From Blood and Ash will give you elements of the story that fans of this series will know and love.


Summary of From Blood and Ash (No Spoilers!)

Before we go into books like From Blood and Ash, let’s have a quick recap of the story. Don’t worry if you haven’t read it though, as we won’t give any major spoilers here!

Poppy’s life isn’t her own. Chosen from birth to usher in a new era, Poppy is a Maiden, responsible for the entire kingdom’s fate. Instead of waiting for her Ascension, she would rather stand with the guards, battling against the evil that stole her family. But the decision was never hers.

When Hawke, a golden-eyed guard who is sworn to secure her Ascension, walks into her life, destiny and duty become entwined with passion and need. He incites her rage, causes her to doubt her beliefs, and tempts her with the forbidden—after all, the life of a Maiden is a life of solitary.

A fallen nation, abandoned by the gods and dreaded by mortals, is rising once again, determined to reclaim what they feel is theirs through bloodshed and revenge.

As the shadow of the cursed approaches, the boundary between what is unlawful and what is right grows increasingly hazy.

Poppy is on the point of losing not just her heart but possibly her life, as every blood-soaked thread holding her world together begins to unravel.

Romance Books Similar to From Blood and Ash

If you like the way Jennifer L. Armentrout writes romance—the enemies to lovers, star-crossed souls, girl at risk of falling for the villain type—then you’re probably looking for something with a similar flare. These romance books similar to From Blood and Ash will give you just that!

1. Crave – Tracey Wolff

When Grace entered the academy, her entire world changed. Nothing about that school or the other kids in it seemed right. Being the only mortal there, she isn’t sure which of the warring factions she belongs to if she belongs at all.

Then there’s Jaxon Vega. A vampire with lethal secrets who hasn’t felt anything in a century. But Jaxon put a wall for a purpose. Now someone wants to rouse a sleeping monster, and Grace may have been sent to the academy on purpose—as bait.

If you liked the supernatural romance in From Blood and Ash, then this needs to be next on your list!

View it on:


2. A Touch of Darkness – Scarlett St. Clair

The Goddess of Spring has a secret. Flowers have wilted under her touch since she was a small child.

After moving to New Athens, Persephone hopes to lead an unassuming life disguised as a mortal journalist. But the God of the Dead has other plans. Hades has established a gambling empire in the mortal world, and his favorite wagers are said to be impossible.

Persephone finds herself in a contract with Hades after a chance encounter, and the terms are impossible: Persephone must create life in the Underworld or lose her freedom forever.

As she fights for her freedom, her feelings for the God of the Dead grow—yet it’s forbidden.


3. These Hallow Vows – Lexi Ryan

Brie despises the Fae and wants nothing to do with them. But when her sister is sold to the king of the Unseelie court, Brie makes a deal with the king himself to get her back: to steal three magical treasures from the Seelie court.

Brie’s only option is to masquerade as a possible wife for Prince Ronan. Which is all well and good until she finds herself falling for him.

Unwilling to let her emotions get in the way, she accepts assistance from a ragtag group of Unseelie misfits with their own hidden goal. Brie finds it difficult to resist their intriguing leader, Finn, as she spends time with him.

Now Brie must decide who to trust with her loyalty, and also her heart. If this sounds like a good book to you, then you might also like these fae romance books.


4. The Shadow Between Us – Tricia Levenseller

Alessandra has a plan to seize power: kill the Shadow King and take over his kingdom.

Nobody knows how powerful the newly crowned Shadow King is. Some claim he has the ability to command the shadows to perform his bidding. Others claim they communicate with him. Regardless, Alessandra knows what she deserves and will do all in her power to have it.

But Alessandra isn’t the only threat to the king. As assassination attempts are made on his life, she finds herself attempting to keep him alive long enough for him to make her his queen, and slowly falling for him in the process.

If this book sounds good to you, then you might also like books similar to The Selection!


5. Flames of Chaos – Amelia Hutchins

When Aria and her sisters return to Haven Falls, they quickly realize that nothing is the same as when they left. One of their own has gone missing, nothing is what it seems, and the egotistical and self-centered Knox has declared himself king.

Soon Aria discovers she is more than simply a witch of the Hecate family, and sparks fly as the two engage in a fierce battle of wills.

Will Aria embrace her feral side to find her sister and save her family, or will she be consumed by the man who will stop at nothing from reaching for what is his?

If you liked From Blood and Ash for its dark and sensual epic fantasy setting, then you are sure to love Flames of Chaos.


Fantasy Books Like From Blood and Ash

Sometimes, the best part of a book is the world you find yourself lost in. If you’re looking for a sweeping epic fantasy with magic realms, mystical creatures, royal intrigue, and betrayal, then check out these fantasy books similar to From Blood and Ash.

6. A Court of Thorns and Roses – Sarah J. Maas

When Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a horrific monster appears to seek retribution. Feyre is dragged to a perilous magical realm, where she realizes that her captor, Tamlin, is not a beast at all, but one of the lethal, immortal faeries that once governed her world.

As she gets to know her new home, and the faeries that live there, she discovers that everything she’s been told about the Fae has been a lie. But something is wrong in the faerie realm. An ancient, evil is rising, and Feyre must find a way to stop it before Tamlin—and his world—is destroyed.

The first book in the series, A Court of Thorn and Roses, is a seductive, magnificent combination of romance, adventure, and faerie lore.


7. Rise of the Mage – Keary Taylor

Margot knows Alderidge University like the back of her hand. As the daughter of professors, she has spent almost her entire life there, raised by her father after her mother’s mysterious disappearance.

After meeting Nathanial Nightingale everything starts to change for Margot. After a surprising discovery at the library, the secrets of both families collide.

They discovered powerful words, which awakened abilities in each of them that had been lost to the world.

Could her mother’s disappearance have been caused by this magic? Is it possible to have inherited such magic? Then there’s the issue of falling in love with someone who has lived through horrors that most people couldn’t imagine!

View it on:


8. A Deal with the Elf King – Elise Kova

Three thousand years ago, humans were hunted by powerful races with wild magic until the treaty was formed. Now, for centuries, the elves have taken a young woman from Luella’s village to be their Human Queen.

To be chosen is seen as a mark of death. A mark nineteen-year-old Luella is grateful to have escaped. That is, until the Elf King unexpectedly arrives to claim her.

Luella is taken to a world full of strange magic and forced to be the next queen to a frigid yet blisteringly attractive Elf King. Once there, she learns about a dying world that only she can save.

If you’re looking for novels like From Blood and Ash, this just might be your next read. It’s ideal for fantasy romance readers searching for a swoon-worthy couple with just the right amount of steam.

View it on:


9. Ash Princess – Laura Sebastian

Theodosia’s country was attacked ten years ago, and her mother, the Fire Queen, was slaughtered in front of her eyes. On that fateful day, the Kaiser seized Theodosia’s family, land, and name. Theo was crowned Ash Princess, a shameful title to carry in her new life as a prisoner.

Sixteen-year-old Theo has spent the last decade as a captive in her own palace. She’s endured the relentless abuse and ridicule of the Kaiser and his court.

Then, one night, the Kaiser orders her to do the unimaginable. With blood on her hands and little possibility of recovering her crown, she realizes that simply existing is no longer enough.


10. Releasing the Gods – Leia Stone

Maisy Parker doesn’t have high expectations in life. Just good friends, happy memories, and eventually achieving 100,000 Instagram followers. She’s almost there, until a drunken dare results in a sliced hand, blood sacrifices, and a thousand-year-old prison opening to show a monster of a man.

Cronus is really a Titan, and he’s set out to destroy the leader of the Greek pantheon. When Maisy makes a colossal mistake, unleashing an untold evil on the world, Cronus is the only one that can help her.

Releasing the Gods is a blend of magic, mythology, romance, and action—perfect for readers who are looking for more books like From Blood and Ash.

If this sounds like an epic book to you, then you might also like these books similar to Red Rising.

View it on:


Young Adult Books Like From Blood and Ash

One of the most appealing aspects of young adult books is the fast pacing and the way that themes are explored. While From Blood and Ash isn’t necessarily listed as a young adult book, some of the elements do align with young adult storytelling.

If that’s your forte, here are some young adult books similar to From Blood and Ash.

11. An Ember in the Ashes – Sabaa Tahir

For years Laia has lived in fear. Defiance is dealt with death under the Martial Empire. Those who do not pledge their blood and bodies to the Emperor risk having their loved ones executed and their possessions destroyed.

For Elias, it’s the opposite. He has seen too much on his path to becoming a Mask, one of the Empire’s elite soldiers. And now he wants nothing more than to be free of the tyranny he’s being trained to enforce.

However, when Laia’s brother is arrested for treason, she is forced to make a choice. In return for assistance from rebels who promise to rescue her brother, she must risk her life spying for them from the Empire’s most prestigious military academy.

However, once Laia and Elias meet, they will discover that their fates are connected and that their decisions will affect the fate of the Empire itself.


12. Serpent & Dove – Shelby Mahurin

Louise le Blanc abandoned her coven two years ago and sought refuge in the city of Cesarine, forsaking all magic and struggling to live on whatever she could steal.

Witches like Lou are persecuted. The war between witches and Church is an ancient one, and Lou’s most dangerous enemies bring a fate worse than fire.

Reid Diggory, a Chasseur sworn to the Church, has lived his life by one rule: thou shalt not suffer a witch to live. His path was never supposed to intersect Lou’s, but a cruel trick drives them into an unthinkable union—holy marriage.

Now they must learn how to survive one another, and Lou has to make sure that Reid doesn’t figure out she’s a witch. For that might mean death, no matter what goes on between them.


13. Heartbreak Prince – C.R Jane

Everly had a difficult life in an unstable family, but she tried everything she could to survive. Caiden and Jackson, twin boys who had recently moved to town, rushed to her rescue after witnessing her being bullied.

The brothers were like night and day; one shone brightly like the sun, while the other was shrouded in darkness. One loved tenderly, while the other loved angrily. One had his edges exposed, while the other was a monster disguised.

It didn’t take the boys long to fall in love with Everly, and she loved them back, one more so than the other. But when she chose Caiden, she lost Jackson.

Years after losing Caiden to tragedy, Everly is ready to admit that she had chosen wrong from the beginning. She’s ready to fight for her happily ever after. The only problem, Jackson hates her. This is one angsty romance novel you won’t be able to put down!

View it on:


14. These Violent Delights – Chloe Gong

These Violent Delights is set in 1926 Shanghai, where a blood rivalry between two gangs turns the streets of red.

Juliette Cai is an eighteen-year-old former flapper who has returned to fulfill her place as the proud successor of the Scarlet Gang—a network of outlaws well beyond the law. 

The White Flowers is their sole power rivals. And their successor, Roma Montagov, Juliette’s first love, and first betrayal, is at the heart of everything they do.

People begin to murmur as criminals on both sides exhibit indications of instability, ending in clawing their own throats out.

Something is lurking in the shadows. As the bodies pile up, Juliette and Roma must put their differences aside and work together, for if they don’t, there will be no city to govern over.


15. This Woven Kingdom – Tahereh Mafi

Alizeh’s lineage as the heir to the jinn realm has been lost to the passage of time. She is now an easily forgotten servant who goes to great measures to maintain her anonymity.

Meanwhile, crown prince Kamran is hearing whispers of a prophesy foretelling the king’s death.

What he does not foresee is that the unforgettable servant girl with unusual eyes would be the one to topple her kingdom. What happens next is anyone’s guess, but it will undoubtedly transform their entire world.

This Woven Kingdom is a story of clashing empires, forbidden romance, and a long-forgotten queen destined to save her people inspired by Persian mythology—perfect for readers looking for books similar to From Blood and Ash!


Like this post? Don’t forget to save it on Pinterest!


Final Word on Books Similar to From Blood and Ash

That wraps up our list of top 15 books similar to From Blood and Ash. Whether you’re here for the sizzling romance or you’re looking for an action-packed story set in a magical world, you’ll be sure to find something for your next read.

Did I miss a recommendation that would go great on this list? Let us know in the comments!

Disclaimer: This website uses affiliate links, meaning I may earn a commission if you make a purchase through a link at no extra cost to you.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.