Epic Book Society Homepage Banner

List of Alex Kava Books in Order: Maggie O’Dell, Ryder Creed Series + More

Last Updated on June 14, 2023 by Louisa

Alex Kava is an international bestselling author known for her Maggie O’Dell and Ryder Creed series.

These suspenseful, thriller and crime novels keep readers on tender hooks as they follow storylines full of twists and turns, with epic plot twists and gripping action.

But which book do you read first? This is a list of Alex Kava books in order, from the Maggie O’Dell series, Ryder Creed Series and standalone novels.

Affiliate Disclosure: This post contains affiliate links, which means I may receive a small commission, at no extra cost to you, if you make a purchase through any of these links. 

Alex Kava Maggie O’Dell Series in Order

The Maggie O’Dell Series was what started it all for Alex Kava. If you are wondering which book to read in order, here are all of the books in chronological and publication order!

Maggie O’Dell Series in Chronological Order

Maggie O’Dell Series in Publication Order

Alex Kava Ryder Creed Series in Order

After the success of Maggie O’Dell, Alex Kava’s second series, the Ryder Creed Series, was next. Here is a list of Ryder Creed books in order.

Ryder Creed Books in Chronological Order

Ryder Creed Books in Publication Order

Alex Kava Standalone Books in Order

Alex Kava Short Stories in Order

Need more inspiration? Check out Melanie Dickerson’s books in order

Who is Alex Kava?

Alex Kava, or Sharon M Kava, is a New York Times bestselling author from Silver Creek, Nebraska. Kava changed her author name to Alex to avoid any gender biases, so with the name Alex, her author name remains gender-neutral. 

She was born in 1960, and her parents were Polish immigrants. As such, she grew up understanding the value of hard work and had always dreamed of becoming a writer.

Alex Kava got a scholarship at the College of Saint Mary in Omaha, Nebraska. She graduated in 1982 with a B.A. In English, Summa Cum Laude. 

After graduation from college, worked in marketing and advertising and started her own graphic design company, Square One when she was 26. In 1996 she quit marketing and PR and started her career as a published author. It took her 1.5 years to write her debut, Perfect Evil, but she didn’t publish it for four years. This would be the start of her Maggie O’Dell series.

Her first novel got 116 rejections, but then went on to become an international bestseller, and while Maggie O’Dell was never meant to be a series, the publisher pressured her to continue. As of 2022, there are 15 books in the series.

Another series that has made Kava famous is the Ryder Creed series, starting with Breaking Creed. 

Alex Kava is a member of the Sisters in Crime and the Mystery Writers of America and Nebraska Writers Guild and International Thriller Writers. She has won the Florida Book Award in 2014 and the Nebraska Book Award in 2015. 

About the Maggie O’Dell Series

The Maggie O’Dell series is an intense thriller/crime series and the first series written by Alex Kava. It was only meant to be a standalone novel until the demand increased and pressure was put on Kava by her publishers. 

The series tells of an FBI Criminal Profiler, Maggie O’Dell, as she tries to uncover the truth behind a series of murders. It starts after a convicted serial killer, Ronald Jeffreys, is executed for three murders. Three months after the execution, another body is found killed in the same way as Jeffreys’ victims.

Enter Maggie O’Dell, one of the FBI’s best criminal profilers and special agent, who quickly recognizes this is someone who has killed before. As she races to follow the clues and find out who the culprit is, another victim is found dead and another missing. They are running out of time…

Each novel in the Maggie O’Dell series tells of uncovering the truth behind a gruesome murder. Each story is full of plot twists and suspense. 

Need more inspiration? Check out Jodi Taylor books in order...

About the Ryder Creed Series

The Ryder Creed series is a spin-off of the Maggie O’Dell series. It follows drug cartels, secret government research facilities, and domestic terrorism. Creed is a former marine, not a law enforcement officer.

Now he is a dog handler, who trains dogs to sniff all sorts of things like drugs, bombs, and people.

The Ryder Creed series is about Creed as he is bought in to help solve cases and help find missing people.

The last novel of the Maggie O’Dell series, Stranded, bridges the two series together.

Need more inspiration? Check out these James Grippando books in order

FAQS About Alex Kava Books in Order

Here is what people usually ask us about Alex Kava books…

Need more inspiration? Check out these Robert Dugoni books in order

Final Word on Alex Kava Books in Order

So there you have it, all of Alex Kava’s books in order! We hope this helps you plan where to start reading.

Like this post? Don’t forget to save it on Pinterest!

Headshot of Louisa

About Louisa Smith

Editor/Founder - Epic Book Society

Louisa is the Founder, Editor, and Head Honcho of Epic Book Society. She was born and raised in the United Kingdom and graduated from the University for the Creative Arts with a degree in Journalism. Louisa began her writing career at the age of 7 when her poetry was published in an anthology of poems to celebrate the Queen's Jubilee. Upon graduating university, she spent several years working as a journalist writing about books before transitioning to become a Primary School Teacher. Louisa loves all genres of books, but her favorites are Sci-Fi, Romance, Fantasy, and Young Adult Fiction. Read more Louisa's story here.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.